You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Utopian Rules Update #7 - Biggest Quality Enforcement Ever

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Great updates as usual. I have one question though:

If your account on an external platform does not match the Steem/Utopian account you must either change it or use another field to show you are the author.

My account name on GitHub does not match my Steem/Utopian account name. I would really prefer not to change my GitHub account name because I have been using it for a long time and I can't change my Steem account name, obviously.

How can I use "another field" to show I am the author? Also, since I have connected my GitHub account with Utopian, shouldn't you be able to know that my Steem/Utopian account has access to that GitHub account?

Please let me know how I can handle this, I would like to make sure my contributions are submitted correctly going forward.

Sort:  

On Discord @deathwing said that putting your Steemit/Utopian username in the README.me of the GitHub repository can serve as proof.

Thanks @amosbastian, would like to get confirmation of this from someone at Utopian. This seems like an odd way to go about this since as i mentioned they should already know if you have access to a particular github account if you connect it with their site.

Yes true @yabapmatt. For github specifically this is more a fast patch until we can implement a way to recognise the user on the frontend directly, while fro crowdin is harder since there is no crowdin connect.

That seems like a pain - if I contribute to some random open source project will I have to ask them to add my steemit username to their readme? I can't imagine too many maintainers would be ok with that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84