Application for Utopian

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Who am I?

Hi, my name is Bora, a student from Turkey.

First of all, I would like to thank you all for your contribution to this project and other open source projects. Even this platform is new compared to others, it is what we needed all the time. If we don't count scammers, this platform encourages people to create and help open source projects. It's clear, people use this platform to gain bucks to have fun. But I believe, in future, those scammers will evaporate and this platform will encourage people to even stand against monopolies. And this is very important. If people can get support for their projects, they can easily save more time for their projects. This is good for them, community, internet and all of us. Also, this is the reason why I want to help. I'm one of those, which is bound to the system but have ideas in mind.

How I Discovered Utopian.io

To be honest, my friend suggested SteemIt as a way to gain some buck. First, I didn't believe him. Because it was ridiculous that people get money from nowhere. But then, I learned more about cryptocurrencies and thought about how the economy works. I figured out, we decide what is precious, we decide what is valuable. So it was us, who gave the value to the physical money. And it is us who gives the value to the cryptocurrencies. And I started to like the idea about this contribution-reward system on SteemIt. Then, I saw Utopian in a post and check it out. And seeing people contributing open source and getting rewards for their contribution impressed me. As I said at above, I want to work on an open source project and for that reason, I want to support the platform. To do that, I want to help to tidy up the mess, which is named translation category.

Here is My Qualifications to Apply

The reason I choose translation is, I'm good at writing and reading. In Turkish, I can write paragraphs of texts. While writing it, I usually read my whole text, find errors and replace words. In return, it ends up as a good article. This qualification of mine applies on English too. I'm not studying English, but I know enough to communicate.

For English, my vocabulary is wide like it is in Turkish. Sometimes I think like I’m speaking Turkish (while English is S-V-O, Turkish is S-O-V) and structure of my sentences became overturned. But reviewing them a lot fixes most of those problems. For the reading part, I'm good at translating them to Turkish because of my Turkish skills are good enough to write a literature. And this is the real qualification in this translation area, I suppose. Also, I passed Preparatory of Bilkent University with one shot, which is one of the hardest preparation exams in Turkey.

As an example, you can check my "Fantastic Story Writing" serie, which contains only 1 article for now:
https://steemit.com/writing/@yokunjon/fantastic-story-writing-how-to-prepare-a-believable-story

And my contribution to SpongeDocs:
https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@yokunjon/translation-of-spongedocs-from-eng-tur

And, to clarify, I can only speak Turkish and English. I know a little bit German, but that's only for fun, not enough.

If I Were to be a Moderator, These Would be My Decisions

First One

Link: https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@umit-t/translated-609-words-from-en-to-tr-on-electron-pt2

My Judgement for Current Rules: I would select "Pending Review", and inform the contributor about his mistakes.

Reason: One of the biggest mistake is, he translates even the programming terms. This is a bad habit. Translating open source projects are harder than translating anything else. Those documentations will be used by other people. Because of this, an open source project translation must not be just translated, but also understandable from a programmers/users perspective. To do that, a translator must also know how programming works, plus must have a general idea about the project. Here are some bad examples from his translation:

https://crowdin.com/translate/electron/68/en-tr#6510
https://crowdin.com/translate/electron/68/en-tr#6528

My Answer: Thanks for the contribution, but we cannot approve your contribution at the current state. The reason behind this is, it's quality is not enough to be approved. Open source projects must not just be translated, but also should be understood by other people when translated. For that reason, translating programming terms is not a good example, a user could not understand from those translations. When translating an open source project, you have to understand programming and you have to know about the program you're translating. Your translations are just translations and don't fit to open source translations.

Second One

Link: https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@crybois/mageplaza-extensions-about-magento-2-english-turkish-translate

My Judgement for Current Rules: I would select "Verify".

Reason: He has some mistakes, but they are not that much important. His sentence building is not good in my perspective (I'm a grammar nazi about Turkish.), but it's enough to be understandable.

My Answer: Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved. I suggest you to increase the quality of your next works. Instead of translating everything, localize some to make it look natural. Good luck.

Third One

Link: https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@ssusar/turkish-translation-adblock-plus-part-1-523-words-translated

My Judgement for Current Rules: I would select "Hide Forever".

Reason: I'm suspecting machine translate from the word locating. It might be a word to word translate or might be from a less known translator. Don't get me offensive or sarcastic but even Google Translate translates better than this and I checked, it really does.

Answer: Thanks for the contribution, but we cannot approve your contribution at the current state. It's quality too low to be approved and it could be even machine translated.

Fourth One

Link: https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@alparslangorgulu/shopware-translation-turkish-translation-511-words-part-2

My Judgement for Current Rules: I would select "Hide Forever".

Reason: If you know Turkish, it's obviously machine translated. Quality is too low. I suspect the project he selected contains especially short sentences. I found that he changed some words to avoid being detected.

Answer: Thanks for the contribution, but we cannot approve your contribution at the current state. It's quality too low to be approved and it could be even machine translated.

Last Words

If I did any mistakes in the post, sorry about that. Thanks for reading and considering my application. Have a nice day/night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62423.21
ETH 2897.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56