Standart Dialog Box in Electron

in #utopin-io6 years ago

electronn.png

https://github.com/electron/electron

my github profile https://github.com/sanalrakam

project file https://github.com/sanalrakam/Standart-Dialogs-in-Electron

What I will learn?

  • You will learn Save Dialog, MessageBox and ErrorBox
  • You will learn how to use the dialog module
  • You will learn how to read the data in the file using the file system
  • You will learn how to send the file using IPC modules

Requirements

Difficulty

  • Intermediate

Description

In an electron application you may want to open the file and save and send various messages.
Electron provides an API for these operations using this API we can easily communicate with the user
I’ll show you four dialog methods in this API on this video
I need to add two button and a textarea to the index.html page
Select the first button text file and print the data in the selected file to the textarea
The second button will record the value on textarea
Letting the user know with a message of the result of saving
Let’s start by adding buttons

ee1.jpg

I need to add a textarea

ee2.jpg

Let’s open the dialog when the button is clicked
I will use the IPC module for this operation because the dialog module is also running in the main process. I carry data to main process with IPC

ee3.jpg

I need a function to get the button clicked

ee4.jpg

I need to set the onclick event of the button to this function

ee5.jpg

And submit the clicked information

ee6.jpg

I will select the file in the main.js file and send the data in the file to the client again so I can print to the textarea.
I need to define the dialog before using it

ee7.jpg

I will perform file operations using file system so I define file system

ee8.jpg

I am using ipcMain on method to catch request from client

ee9.jpg

İf arg is true,we open the dialog

ee10.jpg

We can adjust the filters with the first parameter
With the second parameter, we can define the operations to be performed after the file is opened
Let’s just filter for text files

eea.jpg

After reading the file we read the data
Let’s do the empty check

eeb.jpg

Read the filename variable

eec.jpg

Send data to client

f1.jpg

Let’s catch the data at index.html and print it

f21.jpg

Now I will save the value of the textarea
I write the saveFile function on the onclick event of the save button

f23.jpg

Create the saveFile function
We must send the data in the textarea to the main page
I will capture and save this data on the main page

f4.jpg

As with openDialog the filter and callback parameters are also available in the saveDialog

f5.jpg

I do check file
We must write the data to the file when we are saving the file

f6.jpg

arg represent data from client

Finally show the save message to the user

f7.jpg

İf there is an error we should show the error message
Error Title can be written in error
Errors can be written to the error content parameter
In this tutorial I showed you the standart dialog window in electron
I also showed how filtering works

Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66256.11
ETH 3036.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73