Abu Dhabi '17

in #vacation6 years ago (edited)

ohhcouture_leoniehanne_Thailand_AbuDhabi-11-370x555@2x.jpg

Abu Dhabi, Travel7. April 2017
ABU DHABI ’17

After the international fashion weeks I was in desperate need for some sun and looking forward to discovering new destinations! This is why I was very happy when Abu Dhabi tourism approached me whether I would be interested in a trip to the city. I’ve been to Abu Dhabi once before for my birthday when Alex and I first started working on the blog together and it was a very special trip for me. Abu Dhabi has so much to offer in terms of modernity and entertainment, Arabian culture, and both beach life and of course the desert! Thus, I was very keen to go there again and get to know the city even better. Today I want to tell you about our time in Abu Dhabi!

ohhcouture_leoniehanne_AbuDhabi_17-5-1-370x493@2x.jpg
ohhcouture_leoniehanne_AbuDhabi_17-4-370x555@2x.jpg
ohhcouture_leoniehanne_AbuDhabi_17-5-370x555@2x.jpg

The Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque is the biggest one in the United Arab Emirates and was opened in 2007. I personally think it is one of the most beautiful buildings I ever got to visit! With its numerous columns and domes, the reflection pools and all of the colorfully ornamented white marble you could wander around it forever. We had a young woman as our personal cultural guide, which was amazing because she could give us a lot of details about the mosque’s architecture and design but also about the worshipping that takes place within its walls. If you ever come to Abu Dhabi, the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque should definitely be on top of your of things to see list! It’s a must-not-miss destination!

ohhcouture_leoniehanne_AbuDhabi_17-5-370x555@2x.jpg

While we stayed in the area next to the Grand Mosque out of view of the city’s skyscrapers, we went to the Observation Deck at 300 for afternoon tea one day. The observation deck is on the 74th floor of the Etihad Towers, which makes it the highest observation deck in Abu Dhabi and definitely worth the trip! While sipping a cup of tea or coffee or enjoying a snack you have the most amazing view on the skyscrapers next to you, the marina, the beach and both the Presidential Palace and the Emirates Palace (the first is a “proper” palace, the second one of the most luxurious hotels in the city – it’s probably not advised to knock on the wrong door when you booked a room at the Emirates ;)). The Etihad Towers are also close to the Corniche Beach where you can sit in the sand and enjoy the Abu Dhabi skyline at the same time.

ohhcouture_leoniehanne_AbuDhabi_17-7-370x493@2x.jpg

During our time in Abu Dhabi we stayed at the Ritz-Carlton. It is located next to the Grand Canal with a beach access but it also has an amazing view on the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque that is its direct neighbor. We changed rooms once so that we could enjoy both views from the bed for one night. And one night we had the most beautiful sunset behind the mosque that we enjoyed in the hotel’s garden. I love the Ritz-Carlton hotels and we have stayed there before (for example on Tenerife last month: here). Once more we had a very enjoyable stay and I can only recommend it especially because of its location next to the mosque that is in my opinion the most beautiful sight in the city!

ohhcouture_leoniehanne_AbuDhabi_17-3-370x555@2x.jpg

with my sister and we had a huge window facing the dunes and a big terrace where we had a great Arabian lunch (that we had to protect fiercely from the birds who wanted to have there share). During the day the sand was so hot that you couldn’t really walk around but at night we went on a camel ride and watched the sun setting behind the sandy dunes. I looooove the way the colors of the sand change when the sun is setting and I can never get enough of it. Actually, my sister and I left behind our group having tea to climb the highest dune so that we would have a better view – quite a work out! However, those of you who follow my insta stories might have read about the traumatic camel experience I had in Jordan a couple of years ago when I was appointed a particularly feisty individual and I was really happy that I got along much better with my Arabian camel. 😉 I’m optimistic that this has whipped away my fear of camels for the future! ☺

ohhcouture_leoniehanne_AbuDhabi_17-1-1-370x555@2x.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71