Thank goodness Rand Paul is on the RIGHT SIDE on this libertarian principle...Mandatory VAX debate heating up.

in #vaccines5 years ago

While being totally wrongheaded on the border wall (i.e. libertarianism is NOT about nation destruction, or Constitutional purity when it comes to major national crises/invasions,) Rand has it precisely right on the topic of mandatory vaccinations. With major national pundits trying to make the tortured case that allowing the government to dictate what goes into one's body is somehow "libertarian" (This for example: https://www.washingtonexaminer.com/opinion/why-mandatory-vaccination-is-not-opposed-to-libertarian-principles) Rand is holding firm, so far, despite what I am sure must be major pressure from his donors and the C.F.R. people he bowed and scraped to in order to fend off their resistance to his election.


(Image courtesy of cnn.com.)

See this link:

https://www.cnn.com/2019/03/06/politics/rand-paul-bill-cassidy-vaccines/index.html

Here is a key excerpt:

"Sen. Bill Cassidy, of Louisiana, said vaccines are a key public health safeguard after Paul, of Kentucky, criticized mandatory vaccinations, despite saying that he and his children had been vaccinated. The comments from the senators, both of whom are doctors, come after more than 200 measles cases have been reported across 11 states and prompted Washington state Gov. Jay Inslee to declare a state of emergency in January.


(Dufus witch doctor, Bill Cassidy of Louisiana. Courtesy of nrapvf.org.)

'As we contemplate forcing parents to choose this or that vaccine, I think it's important to remember that force is not consistent with the American story, nor is force consistent with the liberty our forefathers sought when they came to America,' said Paul, an ophthalmologist, during a Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee hearing advocating the use of vaccines.

'I don't think you have to have one or the other, though," he added. "I'm not here to say don't vaccinate your kids. If this hearing is for persuasion, I'm all for the persuasion -- I've vaccinated myself, I've vaccinated my kids. For myself and my children I believe that the benefits of vaccines greatly outweigh the risks, but I still do not favor giving up on liberty for a false sense of security'."


(Image courtesy of libertarianism.org.)

Truer words have never come from the mouth of this sunshine patriot, and part-time true libertarian. He, of course, alludes to this famous quote by Ben Franklin--probably the most "libertarian" of our founding fathers:

"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety."

Often this quote is used in connection with the "gun control" "debate," or other police-state priorities, but Rand is precisely correct to produce this argument with regard to vaccines. After all, if vaccines were so all-fired safe, why do VAXXing parents INSIST that other people's children have to be vaccinated in order for THEM to feel safe, themselves?

Be careful with Rand though, he has a history of caving on important principles when push comes to shove (and/or when special interests and his donors demand it.) There is NO DOUBT that Rand just put himself in the cross hairs of some of the most wealthy and powerful corporations and individuals on the plants, and OF COURSE of the United Nations/WHO as well. A guy who has vaxxed himself and his kids is NOT a true believer in the dangers of vaccination, and if all of us have to put faith in his ability to stand and deliver a major filibuster in the Senate in order to protect our heath freedom, it may be time to get out.


(Part of Tonga...Image courtesy of nationsonline.org.)

I hear Tonga is beautiful this time of year, and the island kingdom does not have a mandatory vaccination policy or lobby...yet...

Sort:  

While being totally wrongheaded on the border wall (i.e. libertarianism is NOT about nation destruction, or Constitutional purity when it comes to major national crises/invasions,)

Yes, it is straight retarded. Open borders people are so damn naive. I just can't comprehend how people can be that dense

Posted using Partiko Android

Bless you, AA. So glad I am not alone on this. NATIONAL SURVIVAL is just a tad more important that ideological purity, IMHO.

Get rid of the welfare state. Then open borders are not an issue. Unless you are worried about cultural changes as a result of that. Then the answer is private property rights to defend borders.

The whole idea of a "national crisis" is at odds with the individuals rights and reeks of collectivism.

Rothbardians like myself don't look at things in terms of "national survival". What is that? Who decides what's good for the nation or not?

Whether you like to believe it or not, our nation is being subverted and, unless people like you wake up, there isn't going to be a nation to serve the libertarian ideals you believe in. It may already be too late. I'm not just being sensationalistic.

Unfortunately, you are choosing to be an idealogue rather than being practical. If you think the only threat is mere cultural, you are dead wrong.

They want to dismantle the great political system of our founding fathers that has done so much for us. Already measures are being put in place by the lefties to bypass the mechanisms that prevent that such as the electoral college.

When that day comes and we end up in war with this subversive and oppressive regime, the blood of your family, friends and countrymen will be on your hands.(after they had worked to import those that care not for the preservation of the values and institutions that made our nation so prosperous.)

We have sounded the trumpet. This is a crisis.

I've heard all this before. I know about Hoppean arguments for removing those who would vote and subvert a free society.

But, you are being sensationalistic. Blood of my family won't be on my hands.

I'm not sure how asking the oppressive regime to build a wall and take more power from the citizens is how you fight the oppressive regime.

You use collective language throughout your post, missing the whole point I was making. Libertarians (or anarchists like myself) are not going to join the cause to battle this cultural and social change if it means picking a political party or side.

You also seem to like to speak as if you know what I'm thinking. I made a simple comment with a different opinion. You do not know anything about me, and have yet to make an argument to my points. All I see here is fear mongering about things I'm already well aware of.

Are you for ending the drug war? Ending military intervention in central america? A return to private property rights and State's Rights? Are you for the shrinking of the federal government, which is my enemy? Or do you truly want them to be your protector?

Just give it time, @chieppa1.

Building a wall may cost a lot in the beginning but, ultimately, will give greater power back to our citizenry as we will not have to deal with the incredible burdens of illegal immigration.

If you live in Jersey, I don't think I can say the impact is as profound as say for a Texan like me.

I know about the cartels. Back before my service, I would go across the border to Acuna but not anymore. It's dangerous and that danger is flooding into my streets before it floods into yours.

Collective language? What does that even mean? That I would advocate for the safety of my nation as a collective before any individualist that lacks the situational awareness or wisdom to see the imminent threat.

Reckon there are too many people like you with that kind of thinking and that is what is going to screw you over. Guess I better stock up on beans, bullets and bandaids and get ready for SHTF.

Talking to people like you further affirm that necessity.

Caveat, I am not saying our govt is squeaky clean either but ffs we need a damn wall and yesterday.

Curated for #informationwar (by @Gregorypatrick)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99