Going back to the core to find some reason

in #vaccines7 years ago

My friend has insisted that he has great conversation through this community, so I am going to jump right in to poke the bear. Honestly, social media is a collection of ‘yes men’, where you dogpile on the person that disagrees until the conversation goes too far, and for that reason, I am skeptical of posting.

Today I reflected on my dislike of a debate that is a not actually debated. The topic I was focused on was the vaccines. Yep. Dare to keep reading? I have been involved in the vaccine debate for years now because I had to make a choice. I stopped just believing what a doctor had to say about an issue because personal experience of them making poor choices. I believe this is because they only have a small peek into my life; thus, I am not angry at the doctors. What I came to learn the hard way was that they work off generalizations and probability. My job is to say why I disagree based on research.

Vaccine-Vial-Containers.jpg

This includes vaccines. People were so vicious on each side of the debate, that I have to say it took a lot of time to research. Then I earnestly try to interject in conversation with devil advocate's approach, because I agree with both side. That’s right. This conversation is setup as an ‘us versus them’ topic when it really should not be.

By pitting adults (non-parents and parents have an opinion on this) against each other, actual intellectual discussion on the topic has ceased. The people leading the arguments use fear tactics and sad facts to try to strong arm the other side. More importantly, valid concerns are brushed aside in favor of fallacious arguments that are very weak.

One is example I recently saw:

“...I am still deeply disturbed that these people are more afraid of people with disabilities than they are fatal, painful, and endemic diseases. If cognitive disabilities are more threatening to you than children never getting to grow up because polio makes a comeback, you have priorities to reevaluate my friend. Shame on you for brainwashing mothers and families into believing that autism is the absolute worst thing that can happen to a person.”

Here I had to stop myself from ranting on the disconnect I see in this argument so I can stay focused on the topic at hand: bombastic things tossed from each side. Terms like “these people” then to follow that with “my friend” and continue with “Shame on you”. This is exactly my issue with the current conversation. I am pro-education and understanding why each side takes the stance it does on a topic. That means people will fall on each side, but that should not be a surprise. It’s important to continue talking.

A couple things I just had to mention about the above argument that I found absurd. Hundreds …. No millions of people have lived through Polio and many didn’t even experience it until they were adults. So if you’re going to shame parents, let’s get your facts straight.

1 - The vaccine they accuse of causing Autism is the MMR.
2 - The MMR does not vaccinate against Polio
3 - We can agree that disabilities should not be used to cause fear.

I am not going to jump into every this or that argument, I just felt this was a fresh example of my frustration with the conversation. Rather, I would like to see an open back and forth about concerns. Why have I not seen any pro-vaccine people help the anti-vaccine people address the concerning barriers between the Pharma companies and the people? I mean seriously.

People will say “Big Pharma is just trying to sell cures that do not cure for the most part”. They do not trust the drugs being advertised on TV, but inherently trust these same companies to provide good vaccines. They brush off the batches that have gone out bad and were recalled. These are the SAME companies. The ones who tried to make and HPV vaccine that is involved in a lawsuit last I checked.

Worse, these companies have more protections against being held accountable than anything else out there aside from the government itself. The more I dug into how vaccines were held accountable, the more I felt concern. Just as importantly, I heard both side sharing concern about the Big Pharma being untouchable, and saw no unified action. No open conversation about accountability or anything of the sort.

If I could contribute anything to the conversation, it would be to say you are actually trying to accomplish the same thing. Both sides want people to be able to live healthy lives, both seem to distrust Big Pharma, but you disagree on what healthy is. This is to be expected. Not everyone will jump on the pro-vaccine boat, but I believe that boat would be more filled if some concerns were actually addressed.

Some topics to consider:
-When should public health take precedence over personal choice? The decision on this line WILL affect other topics outside of vaccines.
-What can be done to make drug manufacturers more accountable with what ingredients they use? Prescription drug abuse and bad batches of shots are legitimate concerns held by many.
-Why, with all our science options, are no alternatives ever being offered? We have generic prescription drugs but absolutely no choice in who gives us “life saving” vaccines. I believe this may be directly tied to intellectual property rights, but worth a discussion.
-Why have the pharmaceutical companies been found guilty in other countries? I do not think American courts should be the end-all of this discussion

Sort:  

I tried a comment here, but it exploded. Here is the wreckage.
https://steemit.com/life/@lifeworship/response-to-back-to-the-core-to-find-reason

Nothing to argue. I'm one of those parents that delay. I think most vaccines are beneficial for the most part, if not the original virus a new strain. I don't do flu because everyone is healthy. But, I do believe that Big Pharma needs better oversight. It's creepy to think how many vaccines there are and what goes into them. Thinking of Henrietta Lacks, men and women being tested with out knowledge or consent. How far does it go? If someone tells me they don't today....I ask what earth they are living in.

@srtiyea I completely understand. When my oldest was young I felt cornered and had to get it done on a specific schedule. After all my research I do think it is too much in a small period of time. Not that I'm infallible, but that is where I landed. What I hated is that it felt like that demographic had very little part in the conversation. I also do not get regular flu shots. For me it feels unnecessary, and in 6 years I have had the flu 1 time. So I think my decision is right for me, and I hate it when jobs try to force that decision. Thank you for the response ^_^

You cannot sue the vaccine companies in The USSA.
So, the courts will have nothing to say.

I feel your pain about arguing with people who believe in a position because of a belief or a belief in an institution. Doctors are supposed to help us, right? Doctors spend years in school to learn, so they know, right? Well, this, to most people is a sacrosanct position. Do not attack the doctors. However, talking to MANY doctors, their education on several critical areas (like nutrition) is sorely lacking. So, you end up with people arguing from emotion, and facts get swept aside. And on it goes.

Yep, it's the classic Appeal to Authority fallacy. :) Sadly.

I learned that doctor's have an idea of what the human body should do, but how it applies to each individual is unique. Some have been insightful to me, and others detrimental. For that reason I research before and after talking with them. :) I find a lot of arguing from emotion on medical topics. Thank you for the comment ^_^

Welcome to steemit. Nice post. Very well written. Look forward to your #introduceyourself post, though I happen to know you already. I am going to resteem this post.

I think you'll find people here on steemit will engage with you on this topic in a different way than you are used to.

I for one consider then entire you are either for vaccines, or you are an anti-vaxxer a false dichotomy.

There are many types of people, many different choices. They also have many different beliefs besides those two distinctly black and white choices.

I've written about this a bit myself before...

  • False Dichotomies rule the stage during this day... we should learn to recognize them... [logical fallacy] 6 months ago... only mentioned some
  • Trudge onward brave friend... your mind is your shield, you need not flee in fear... face your fear... 18 days ago
  • Could'a Should'a Would'a looked back with 20/20 at the WHAT IFs... 19 days ago
    • Your encouragement is the biggest reason I am here, and I am sure the people will be why I stay ;) I look forward to reading more! Thank you for those links related to mine and I have started drafting an introduction.

      I believe you will do quite well. You seem to have a gift for writing. Enjoy the community. If you encounter assholes (very rare here) either ignore them, or at worst case you can MUTE people by going to their profile. I kind of doubt you will need this.

      Good luck, I am following and will keep an eye out. Shoot me an IM when you get your introduceyourself post up.

      Congratulations @quilty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

      You made your First Comment

      Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
      For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

      If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

      If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

      Coin Marketplace

      STEEM 0.27
      TRX 0.13
      JST 0.032
      BTC 62513.70
      ETH 2949.39
      USDT 1.00
      SBD 3.60