Vegan/Veg Roulette

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Fruit-and-vegetable-research-could-prevent-millions-of-deaths_wrbm_large.jpg
I went to a local farm recently with my daughter and we saw chickens, lambs, pigs etc and I thought at the moment my daughter is fussy she doesn't eat much meat but picks out the veg but one day I'm going to have to explain to her that the meat we eat is coming from the same type of animals we look at.

As an adult we consciously have made a choice to eat meat regardless of how it might have ended up on our table whether through a "humane" process or not. Seeing slaughter videos you do get a sense of there being no correct way to raise and then kill an animal perhaps if you lived on the farm and the animal died of natural causes that would make sense to then consume rather than dispose of.

With recent discussions and posts it seems the majority of animals we consume are raised faster than normal (hormones/force fed) and if the animal consumes hormones or steroids so does the human. My other concern is the stress and emotions an animal goes through before it dies some believe this can be transferred to you upon consumption (feelings of stress or fear).

I try to not eat "junk" food but will occasionally have something like grilled chicken and the temptation is high when others around you are eating and there's a lack of options which can become a problem.

Can mass veganism lead to companies slaughtering less? Less waste in animal feed and crops and maintenance or is it a system that will always be on such a large scale? Too big to fail.

Becoming vegan seems an option but this country seems to make it very hard to find healthy food and meat alternatives at an affordable price, it seems any thing that becomes "in" or the trend companies wish to exploit and make money from.

I also had to look up and difference between vegan and vegetarian apparently vegans not only don't consume meat but also the other products of the animal such as milk, dairy and materials such as wool they don't use whereas vegetarians will not eat meat but may still consume dairy and wear materials produced from animals.

I see salads available in their plastic containers and I guess my body hasn't adjusted to having it because it still feels light and my belly doesn't feel full, I think it's better to buy the veg and make your own if you got time but I'm not the type of person who enjoys cooking or makes much time for it. There's also the factor of having to adjust others around such as family to ensure they have compatible choices for me. I haven't made the switch yet I'm still trying to find enough alternatives that would agree with me as I hear soya is not as good for people as they would like to think but trying to get there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69852.07
ETH 3757.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75