I made this vegan roast but my family refused to eat it....

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

I recently took a trip back to the UK and its always a bit awkward with my family. There are 2 meals, there's meat mine vegan! I have tried to veganiglize them but it hasn't worked yet. I think laziness is the biggest hurdle for them.

IMG_20180930_172405.jpg

Well I thought at least let me cook something to share with them on Sunday. Sunday dinner is a get together family time and I wanted to share my awesome food with them.

.... But what went wrong????

IMG_20180930_172319.jpg

Wouldn't you eat this delicious delight?????

Well it was a weird situation where know one said anything. My dad ate a corner of it and I kept asking the rest of the fam to eat a piece but no one would try it.

I had an outburst and couldn't believe it what had was going on?

Then the bombshell, my stepmum tells me it's because I topped the butternut squash with the dried beans apparently beans make you sick!

Wtf have you ever heard such a thing,? I only ever heard the opposite? I eat them everyday and I've never been sick.

I was kinda upset by the logic but sometimes there's no changing some peoples perspective. Especially when they read things based around fear and unable to see the reality right in front of them.

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

instathumbnail.jpg

facebookthumbnailxs.png

Sort:  

Yummmm, interesting how set in our ways we can become. Look at you pushing comfort zones- love it!

Haha thank you, I do like to push comfort zones and smoother people with nice food they are capable to eat! :)

Hm. Interesting. I cannot recall a time beans have ever made me sick. Perhaps a bit gassy, but never sick. Any of them have allergies... or just something they got off the internet?

I know same here. I eat beans everyday. Apparently something on the NHS website if beans are not prepared properly but then that would be the same if you cooked a chicken and it was still raw, you would get sick.! Haha

OMG! That looks so beautifully decorated and delicious. I sure am interested to have it. I wanna turn vegan for this recipe.

Yes!!! 🌻 Thank you, you've made my day. If my dish could turn someone vegan then I'm on the right track... Haha xxx

How awkward.

I have no idea if I would like it or not, but I would definitively try if I was invited, I'd consider anything else extremely impolite. Being a vegan is an accepted excuse to skip eating dishes containing meat, but being an omnivore is not an accepted excuse to skip eating vegan dishes.

@tobixen exactly!!!! Thank you! Im well travelled person and something I learned that culturally its universally impolite not to accept food unless you have specific dietary needs. I'm glad I'm not alone on this one :)

Looks delicious and I certainly would have eaten it all.

You can choose your friends, but not your family... Looks amazing, may I ask what are the lime coloured things with red flesh, thanks in advance... Just cook them up some chip batches next time...lol

U are so right @cryptothoughts! Haha 😂 the lime looking things are figs they actually have a green flesh different kind of fig from the purple flesh figs but taste pretty similar. I brought them from Spain to England as a surprise for the family haha! I'm going to post more recipes soon using these beauties.

Fantastic thank you, I'm going to look out for them and try to copy this dish, looks divine.

Please do, its pretty simple just roast veggies! ☺ Hope you enjoy it!!!

this looks divine, and I would be so happy to eat this with you xxx but like you said it is difficult to change people, it is much better for you to accept them for who they are and where they are at. They choose to be the way they are at the end of the day and although that may be difficult at first it is better for you in the long run. It is your life and what you do with it that matters the most xxxx

Thank you @trucklife-family ! Hopefully one day soon we will be able to share a meal together :) yep they are my family but I've always been different and that's OK, no point burning bridges over it. We have to accept each other for what we are. That's just life, we are all different after all!

Im not a vegan, but this looks delicious!

Thank you!!! It's nice to know non vegans can appreciate and it was certainly delicious!

Im not a vegan, but this looks delicious!

Thank you friend!

Thats sad! The food looks delicious 😀

I know its annoying to the ego,when our loved ones come out with crazy beliefs (like the beans making people sick!) I really do wonder where people get such ideas from,and even worse, to believe that they are true! Chin up! 🐹😊

@movingman thanks for cheering me up bruv 😁 yea I was a bit hurt at first but in the end I just laughed it off and besides I got to eat the whole lot to myself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95