Iron-chef round 06: Medicinal Sushi

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180711_221218.png

This week's Iron-chef challenge was to elevate the classic sushi dish.
Well this week I'm somewhere a bit different to my home in Spain. I've arrived in Kuala Lumpur on route to Indonesia. I was quite run down before I left Spain, I was working all hours to be able to afford my plane ticket and that meant I'd ended up working in air-conditioned cooperate office, where the aircon filter hadn't been cleaned and there was some nasty bug flying around. Normally I don't get sick but once I start to get run down and not enough sleep, I get vulnerable.
I hate air-conditioners and confined spaces, cooperate work is definitely not for me in the long run. I did managed to fight off most of the bug but it then it came back whilst travelling.

As I don't use western medicine unless absolutely necessary and prefer to heal myself with healing foods, I've mainly been gorging on all these lovely tropical fruits I don't buy when I'm back home. They are keeping me hydrated and happy considering the circumstances.

IMG_20180713_095109.png

haven't really been able to smell or taste anything for about 2 weeks now, so mostly food right now is all about what healing properties it has, this is what inspired me to make a 'medicinal' style sushi for this challenge.

As a vegan fish is a no go so I replaced it with papaya that has a salmon esque color and the seeds have the look of caviar.
Did you know the seeds contain papain a very powerful anti-bacterial edible medicine. Which I have been using to treat myself recently.
They taste mustardy and peppery and its good to chew them a while for maximum benefits, and must be eaten after food because of its strong affects on the stomach and its ability to pass out the toxin in your body rapidly!

IMG_20180711_220408.png

Ingredients

Papaya
Papaya seeds
Mulberries
Red dates
Mangosteen
Lime
Nori

IMG_20180711_220939.jpg

Mulberries are a super food and anti oxidant rich food filled with protein, iron and vitamin c. To be honest I've never come across fresh mulberries before so I had to try them!

Red date / jujube is also a new discovery for me. I visited a Chinese organic health food shop and thought it would be a good to try these as they are considered medicinal and also have uplifting and calming effects on the mood. It's another anti oxidant rich food filled with vitamin C, it's also used to treat insomnia, constipation and blood pressure regulator as well as having anti cancer abilities.

Mangosteen is another vitamin c rich food, said to prevent tuberculosis, used for gum disease and acne, most importantly for me it boosts the immune system and cardiovascular health.

Thanks again to @progressive-chef for running this contest + @donkeypong, @canadian-coconut and @sjennon for supporting the contest

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

I think you interpreted the progressivechef's theme best! Completely deconstruction. Beautiful! Get fully well soon! 😘

That is an interesting list of ingredients, I have to say I have never eat something like that combination, but would love to try it :D

The plate looks amazing. Good luck!

I love your choice of interesting ingredients to make this dish. Looks like something served in an expensive vegan restaurant!

Hope you feel better very soon. Glad to hear you use fruit to heal yourself. This is something I have been doing for about 9 months and it totally works. I feel better than I have ever felt.

I eat lots of jujube when I visit Asia every year, but never known all the medicinal properties. Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

wow! there is something altogether different.. amazing concept!

Wow! there is something
Altogether different..
Amazing concept!

                 - eco-alex


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

very unique flavor and love the modern plating!!

Hey my friend! Sorry for the super lateness - sooo busy these days!!!, but despite everything, I make sure to read each one entries sent in SIC!
This entry is so deep in the philosophy of whole SIC infact!
Beautiful!

Congratulations to your well deserved prize! It always makes me happy and smile from one ear to the other to share a prize with you! It happened before, didn't it? 🥂🍾 Let's cling a glass!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85