The World of Vegan Baking (Or How to Cook with no Food)

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Now that’s a title with a story behind it.

I’ll dedicate this post to the unexpected journey that took me to the discovery of one of the most incredible and curious cuisines, the one brought to us by the ingenious vegan world, and how it became like a steam valve for me in this chaotic country.
IMG_20161213_182124.jpg
I enjoyed cooking since forever. Like most children, I liked to be a part of the making of many goodies, and no, it wasn’t only to eat the batter (Though that’s definitely a plus). But it was around my teens when I realized how much I loved it. And something like the day after, food disappeared in Venezuela.

That sounds a little dramatic, but it isn’t far from the reality. Many of the things we consider staples were terribly difficult to find in the store shelves. Planning to go out for grocery shopping was like preparing for hunting, to face the mayhem of adversity that embraces us each time we ran out of something like rice. Each freaking time.

So it’s not to be surprising that other basics like flour, butter, oil or sugar (or actual freedom) were mostly out of sight. So if for the daily stuff we would put up with all of that to get them, something like baking was pretty much a veto.

But something that we say in my country, is that crisis is the moment for entrepreneurs, so when scarcity slaps you in the face, you got to get creative and find a way to outsmart that brat.

Of course, when I felt the urge to type into my Google search “How to cook with no food”, I thought maybe I was going out of track in here. Almost. And then it happened. I suddenly remembered something, the perfect thing to solve this predicament without having to sell my kidney. Yes, vegan food came to the rescue.

Now with a fresher mindset, excitement flooded through my veins as I found thousands of wonderful ideas that fitted my situation perfectly, and surprising me with their clever substitutions and minimalism. All plant based, some oil free, gluten free sugar free, allergens free, everything free. I was absolutely shocked at some points to be honest. How do you even make something with two ingredients? That’s just witchcraft right there.

Most times, what seems too different to what we’re used to make us doubt, but in this occasion, I couldn’t be happier to experiment with something so new to me. Something unlike any other thing I had try, but definitely more special and still bringing results that were above my expectations. I fell in love with this way of cooking and now it´s a lovely part of my life that I get to share with others.

The best thing, you don’t necessarily need to be a vegan to enjoy this kind of food. Whether you like trying new stuff, you want a lighter recipe for some brownies or just ran out of butter before your friend’s birthday, checking out this science-like baking is a wonderful way to bring a change to the table.

That’s it for today guys. Please upvote if this article was interesting for you and feel free comment if you have any questions or something to say.

See you later!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55