You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whom Do You Think As “Food” Animals & Whom not?

in #vegan6 years ago

Really good post and an interesting topic for sure!

Frist of I'm no vegan or vegetarian but I only eat meat I know the animals had it well or I have to admit the occasional burger after a long night out drinking.

In my opinion the line between food or non-food animal is manmade. If you think logically and rational there is literally no difference in eating for example a rabbit than eating a cat. It just happens the cat has been domesticated and the rabbit is still mainly held for its meat. Another reason for clearl food animals like cows, pigs, chicken is there biological potential to breed faster and better than other non-food animals.

Do not get me wrong I'm in no way defending mass animal husbandry just stating some sad facts.

Sort:  

You said it! All animals are animals ....the discriminating line between food and non-food is according to human convenience and is very subjective. And faster breeding logic is not biologically true. Humans have evolved animal husbandry to make over-breeding possible for making "live-stock" farming more "efficient". There is hardly any rational logic for consumption of meat by humans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63816.85
ETH 3134.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86