50 STEEM cents contest! "Vegans, what do you think about this?" #1 - Wearing animal skin from before you were vegan

in #vegan6 years ago

Hi Steemian vegans!

Today I had an idea for a writing contest here on STEEM. The goal of it is to share our thoughts about a specific subject and re-establish our beliefs if we come across something better.

earnsbd.JPG

The contest itself will last for a week until the payout for this post comes. The SBD earned with this post will be deducted by 0.05 SBD (which is the price of Steemit for Resteem service I'm testing out right now) and it will be used in the next contest. The SP earned will stay in my account.

In this first contest, the winner gets a symbolical amount of 50 SBD cents. If this post receives 0.55 SBD or more in post rewards, I will make a new contest next week.

To participate in this contest you must:

  1. Resteem this post.
  2. Write a comment that answers the question for this contest.

You can also write a new post on your own blog and link it in the comments here.

The winner will be manually chosen by myself, whoever manages to make me think or even change my mind on the subject has more chance to win. Be creative, but logical. I won't state my beliefs right now to make the contest more fun, but I will write them in the post for the next contest. I will also mention all of you who wrote comments or posts and describe how you influenced my thought flow. I will not answer your comments until the payout, except if you have a question about the competition itself.

The question for this contest is:

What do you think about wearing animal skin, wool or silk that you bought or inherited before you were vegan?

...

Think about it deeply and write your entry. If you're the winner, you'll receive a transaction with 0.50 STEEM dollars (SBD).

The upvote/resteem service I'm testing:

I hope you liked the idea for this contest,

With love,
@freegardens!
baNNER3.JPG

Sort:  

Here is my entry. :--) Thanks for hosting this contest, loads of good content is has surfacing. https://steemit.com/vegan/@fruitdaddy/should-vegans-wear-animal-skins-they-had-from-a-past-life

Interesting question.
I decided to wear this kind of clothes instead of throwing or giving them away and each time I wear one of those I take the time to think about the non-human animals who have been killed in that purpose and pay tribute to them.
It is kind of assuming those wrong and unaware choices that I made.

Thank you for your comment @cknr7! If you want this comment to become your entry, please resteem this post. We need as much entries as we can get if we want to make it a real contest!

Since the only reason I ever was a vegan was the fact of ethical treatment and factory farming my answer is yes you should continue to keep and treasure and wear them. In fact, using every piece of the animal is a good way to ensure it didn't die for nothing at least.. To me wasting an animal's life that was taken for our consumption is more insulting and thereby worse than say wearing leather. And many animal hides can or are harvested from naturally deceased animals, making those a great option for anyone concerned about the well being of the animals whose skins/products they use. Factory farming and unethical treatment of animals was what led me over to finding out more about this topic.

Thank you for your comment @bigdeej! If you want this comment to become your entry, please resteem this post. We need as much entries as we can get if we want to make it a real contest!

Done! If I am selected as a winner please donate any prizes to @deejcharitytrust to be used to help get real world charities started with steem! What my charitable steem trust is all about: https://steemit.com/charity/@deejcharitytrust/welcome-all-to-bigdeej-s-charitable-steem-trust

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66