What I eat in a week + Travel update

in #vegan6 years ago

Hi everyone,

Just sharing some meals that I had throughout the week. This is going to be a sparse post because I really didn't eat that much. I was dealing with my mom being in the hospital for a few days and I spent most of my time sitting in the chair next to her bed - so quite a few meals were skipped on my part. I don't have much of an appetite when I'm nervous/worried.

Anyway, onto the food!

Most of my food this week was eating apples and cuties with an occasional orange if the hospital had some for sale.

01bf35a03b0b8b25ecb78d640063ec308ef0c8dd90.jpg

I had a cabbage slaw type of salad with sectioned cuties on top. I also baked some potato rounds off in the oven with a bit or rosemary and thyme sprinkled on top.

019f86aa2836a21a139c96b9030e45b19434c6da3b.jpg

I eat at a local health food store called Down to Earth (https://www.downtoearth.org/) whenever I'm on a time crunch or I just can't be bothered to cook. I had a salad, but I made it fun! I don't usually use dressing on my salads so instead I get very creative with the toppings. I added the tofu poke, purple potatoes, artichoke hearts, red cabbage, seaweed salad - it's a mixture of kelp, corn, and bell peppers, some chickpeas and olives are hidden in there somewhere underneath that pile of food haha. I had a Tofu Musubi - similar to the traditional Musubi dish but without the cruelty and the cholesterol. I probably drank half of that juice container - for some reason I've just been craving juices this week. I tried out Amy's Dreamy bar and it was pretty good. I wish the nougat was a bit gummier, but it gets a solid 6.5/10 from me overall.

01448db238658a86ab535d7cd7af41de6f336bf771.jpg

Another meal from Down to Earth: they make these jumbo spring rolls that I am just obsessed with. I also had a berry smoothie and some szechuan style sauteed veggies.

017e7890f4782af103b1959b80bcebe72fdd8ba4f6.jpg

I made a quick seaweed salad with glass noodles (aka Mung bean thread noodles) and I added in a bit of a left over tofu scramble I'd made that morning. I wanted some texture with my dish so I made some rice paper bacon to give my food a crunchy aspect.

015b5b3e28db5c13aaf50f1ccd4b58fc0155f37fe4.jpg

I tried these protein chips with a southwest touf scramble I'd prepperd and I was beyond disappointed. The seasoning blend on them tasted okay, but the chip itself just tasted burnt and I couldn't get over that ash-like flavor profile so I had to call it quits.

01ac2f989ed54835bb28915ea6538dacb057606f24.jpg

I made a Chinese take-out style tofu dish with braised cabbage, sauteed bell peppers, onions and garlic. I coated my tofu triangles in corn starch to keep it GF and I baked them off in the oven for about 40 mins. I served the dish with some steamed rice and rice paper bacon (I'm addicted to how smokey it is).

IMG_1940.JPG

I made a batch of lentils and placed them on a bed of rice with half an avocado and some sriracha and it was delicious! Sometimes the most simple dishes are the most flavorful ones.

IMG_1939.JPG

Travel Updates

So it looks like my first flight is early tomorrow morning. The destination is most likely Guam! I say most likely because we are using the military's HOP system to fly so we won't know what flights are available until three days before the flight is scheduled and the destinations could change at anytime. For now we're just going with the flow and seeing where our journey takes us. I'm excited to see how I'll fill my passport book along the way.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you all have a great week!

Sort:  

Keep up the good work with your vegan diet, i know its hard when travelling, keep to as many natural products as possible! Where are you exactly, Hawaii?? so jealous

Thanks for the encouragement!! The hardest part is eating whole foods because the vegan junk foods are so readily available haha! I was in Aiea, Hi. It's a beautiful place! :)

I know I can imagine, i think its good to treat urself just be aware that some products arent always that healthy or conscious, always check the packaging. For instance products with palm oil are detrimental to environment and wild animals. join the vegan discord chat room https://discord.gg/RVAN4bK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58