Quick & Easy Healthy Breakfast/Snack! #2 Superfood Smoothie Bowls (Vegan, Gluten-Free) ๐Ÿน+๐Ÿต

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago

Get ready for some DIY-worthy, kick-butt recipes that will keep you and your family happy, healthy and full! =D


IMG_0009 (2).JPG


This time, we're taking on breakfast! Slide that cereal and milk right outta the picture. Let's get something more wild and crazy happening on the table today instead! ๐Ÿ’™

I started this series for healthy, quick and easy recipes because if you know me, sometimes I can take my meals to the next level (meaning a lot of time and effort required!) I hear you Steemians, I know not everyone has the same amount of time or energy to pull that off. Not everyone is as obsessed of food as I am! I hear you. For me, I'm super lucky to be able to have time in my kitchen to create and explore my passion which is HEALTHY, HEALING FOODS :)

These recipes are designed to be minimal effort, maximum taste so, don't be afraid, these recipes are so easy you'll love to make them and even better than that, love to eat them ;)

heart thing.png

THE SMOOTHIE BOWL ๐Ÿน+ ๐Ÿต

First thing is first, you have to have a nice bowl to put it in so you can enjoy it most! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Next, you're going to need a blender or someone around that has one heck of a forearm to mash up your goods for you! ๐Ÿ˜‰

For breakfast, I either have a plate of fruit, a smoothie or a smoothie bowl (on most days) I love having fruit to start my day because it gives me a healthy, natural boost of energy. I feel the best when I start with fruit and work my way into heavier food throughout the day.

Smoothie bowls are amazing because you can use whatever you have to create them. I have an abundance of recipes and options but I'll include the recipe you see in this photo to give you an idea of where to start! ๐Ÿ’™

Why these ingredients?

These ingredients are chosen not only because they're delicious (because if you ask me, all fruit is perfection)! But these specific fruits are packed full of antioxidants so you can eat your breakfast knowing, you are essentially sending in warriors to help fend off any opponents fighting your body at the moment! Isn't that amazing?

  • Papaya:
    Antioxidants! What do antioxidants do? Well, to put it in a nutshell, they help your body by removing oxidants/free radicals inside your body. Let's just say, they help take out some of the bad stuff you might have hanging out inside! Papayas also have vitamin C, vitamin B, fiber and magnesium. Papayas are a powerhouse for your skin and digestion.
    Pro tip: keep the peel and use it on your face for a glowing complexion! ๐Ÿ’™
  • Orange:๐ŸŠ
    More antioxidants with some vitamin c! We all know we need vitamin c right? Well, what vitamin c does is keep the body's immunity strong to defend against anything nasty coming our way! Oranges are a delicious way to get our daily dose!
  • Soursop:
    MORE antioxidants (imagine that? It's almost like I did it on purpose) ๐Ÿ˜‰ Don't forget vitamin C, B vitamins, calcium, phosphorous and did I mention it's delicious and some even call it the icecream fruit?

What you need: (makes 2 bowls)

  • 1/2 cup papaya
  • 1 orange
  • 1/2 cup soursop (in my opinion, the most delicious fruit in the world!)
  • 2 tbs maca root powder
  • Dried mulberries
  • Dried goji berries
  • Dried black currants
  • 2-4 tbs chia seeds (depending on how hungry you are!)
  • 1/4-1/2 cup coconut milk (or nut based milk)

IMG_0010 (2).JPG


What to do:

  • Start by taking your coconut milk and adding the chia seeds to it. Set aside and let the chia soak up the milk.
  • Blend the papaya and orange together in a blender. You want the mixture to be thick but you can add coconut or regular water as needed if you're having trouble getting it to blend together.
  • Pour the orange mixture into the bottom of the bowl.
  • Rinse the blender (if you want to keep colors separate, otherwise it's no problem to use it again!)
  • Put de-seeded soursop into the blender and blend with maca root powder (again, use water as needed)
  • Pour the white mixture on top of the orange part in the bowl.
  • Sprinkle the dried fruits all over the top.
  • Your chia pudding should be ready to go, drop it on top and if you're feeling extra fancy, dress with a flower for good measure ;)
  • You're ready to find a spoon and get your tummy filled!

IMG_0008 (3).JPG


It is my full-hearted belief that healing can come through food. I have experienced it and live it daily myself. I love being able to share and inspire the very thing that saved my life! I hope you enjoy this recipe and wish you a wonderful, delicious breakie!

Sending you love through food today and every day!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png
updated signature.jpg

Sort: ย 

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Ahhh! Awesome! Thanks @princessmewmew <3 I love healthy recipes like this one being shared!

This smoothie bowl looks delicious!
I would love to try it out with mango and peach...<3

I almost ALWAYS use mango in my bowls haha this is one of the only ones without it! I wish I could do your mixture but I don't have peaches in Bali :( Oh how I could go for a peach now that you mention it! Please make that one and let me live vicariously through your taste buds :)

NO PEACHES THERE!?!? They are my number one favorite fruit...lol...mango is second. I am very lucky peaches grow locally here. The organic ones are like eating candy! I will certainly try out this combination when in season and think of you! This year I want to buy a whole crate and freeze the slices to be enjoyed all winter. Unsweetened coconut flakes...slivered almonds...hemp hearts and dried cranberries are also good toppings. :D

OK now you're just making me drool. I love peaches too... I just have to forget about them for the most part as to not miss them incredibly ;). Luckily, mango and soursop are my fav's so I can't complain too much since I can get them here, trade offs. It's so funny though, how you will always miss what you can't have! Buying a crate would be a genuis idea! I wish I could buy one with you! :) Definitely think of me next time :)

Looks amazing!! Thanks for sharing the recipe I'm sure it tastes delicious :)

That is my passion and goal to share so other people can try and see that healthy food can be delicious too :)

I love the message you are putting out in the world! Keep going :)

Awww thank you ๐Ÿ’– Have a wonderful day!

Haha i won't say anything ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š

Ohhhh! This smoothie bowl looks so yummy, and healthy, always you make just the good food, which contains vitamins and fiber.

Hey @creativewoman :) You know how I love promoting healthy foods :) <3

I love smoothie bowl too! I often use chia seeds or flax seeds as a great source of omega 3:) And it makes very nice structure like a pudding;)

Yes definitely! Chia and flax are staples in my kitchen, I use them for so many things :) I love hearing you are eating healthy too! I believe it can change our lives :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by heart-to-heart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice vegan food. Looks delicious and healthy

chia seeds (*depending on how hungry

Chia when it expands can actually be really filling and is packed full of stuff you need for breakie :) Give it a try :)

I am salivating already. Would like to try this out but getting chia seed will be difficult. Thanks for sharing

Oh you think so? Where are you from? I find that everywhere I travel to has a range of products like this nowadays! You should check online I bet you'd be able to find out where to get some :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69