You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Do People Have To Keep Birds In Cages?

in #vegan5 years ago

I wonder what was going on with that. Why would they have all those birds at all and not even have them inside? And why put them in abnormally small cages?

Makes one wonder if it isn't some sort of business exploiting the animals.

I think you know from reading on TSU discord that I've started writing on whaleshares also (come on over!). Earlier today on there I wrote about an encounter with what may be a neglected dog. Long story short, both a guys dogs found there way to where I was walking mine today and followed us home. One was well fed and had a collar. The other was emaciated and had no collar. I thought they were abandoned and one was simply doing better fending for food than the other.

But turns out they belong to a neighbor and he intentionally let them out!

Another neighbor called him and he came and got them. Later though I couldn't stop thinking about it. Finally it hit me that the one with no collar was one he wasn't feeding and was trying to get rid of. Hence the lack of any trace to him on the animal.

Why?

Both such sweet dogs, though completely untrained. Both so gentle with my tiny little dog. Both so friendly toward me also, even before I gave them treats.

And I face that same sort of decision you do, what to do when you see what you think is abuse but there is no clear legal line being crossed? Do you confront the person? Do you call animal welfare and report it?

What if you're wrong and they really are being well cared for? In my case, maybe that dog has a stomach problem so hasn't been keeping food down, and maybe no collar because he keeps getting out of it. In your case, maybe the person puts them out in the cages for an hour a day to get some sun, and otherwise they fly free inside the shut house.

What if we report, animal control takes them away, and then they wind up being killed because no one adopts them?

It's all so hard. Why can't people just be loving and compassionate toward our animal friends?

Sort:  

Oh I hear you sister, there is such a huge problem with animal abuse in the world. It is one thing that really upsets me. Is it possible to approach your neighbour and ask them about the dog, maybe act like you do not know it is theirs, just that you saw it around and wondered if it needed assistance and were asking other people as well and see what their reaction is. It is difficult to know what to do. It is somethingi really struggle with, when to intervene.

He knows me now that we passed as he was coming to get them and I told him where I lived for future reference. So I'd have to ask my other neighbor for his contact info then make a point of inquiring about the dog. I'm not sure how I could broach the subject of one being so skinny without it sounding like criticism. Meanwhile I'm pretty sure he grew up in this neighborhood, whereas I've only been here a few months. I'm not sure I want to alienate all my neighbors, particularly if I can't bring about a behavior change anyway, shy of maybe offering to adopt the dog. But I definitely don't want another dog, especially not a fully grown one that no one ever trained.

I think I'll have to let it go unless I see the dog over here again. If they come over here, then when I get a hold of the owner to come get them I'll ask then about why he thinks they keep coming and what might be wrong. That may provide some opening.

Thanks for helping me process this. I hope our convo has helped you somehow process seeing those birds like that too. I think we have to settle into having no perfect answers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69