Vegan Coffee and Banana Cupcakes

in #vegan5 years ago

I baked up these delicious cupcakes yesterday for my baby daughters birthday party and they were so good i doubt anyone could tell they were even Vegan

I hope you will enjoy them, they are really easy to make, absolutely no skill required.
It makes about 6-7 cupcakes but you can multiply easily for more.

Preheat oven to 170 degrees centigrade/ 330 fahrenheit

For the cupcake

120g Self Raising flour
70g castor sugar
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
120g vegan mayonnaise
1 large or 2 small bananas, mashed up.
1 tsp Coffee extract
(optional) some Vegan chocolate chips (3 per cupcake)

For the icing

80g vegan margarine
250g icing sugar
1tbsp Coffee Extract
a touch of Soya Milk

DSC_0505.JPG

Cupcake Method

Start by mixing the dry ingredients together (flour, sugar and soda)
In a separate bowl mix the banana, the vegan mayo and the extract together.
Now add the dry ingredients to the wet and use a spoon to stir until it is mixed together and no more. No special techniques or tricks to this, just stir until mixed.
Do not keep stirring this as you will take the air out and it will create a dense cupcake.

put some cupcake cases to a muffin tray and fill them with the mix to about 3/4 full.
At this point you can pop in some chocolate drops and push them inside the batter in your cupcake cases 2 or 3 is enough, just adds an extra dimension to them.

DSC_0510.JPG

DSC_0512.JPG

Bake in the oven for 20 minutes. Remove and allow to cool.

DSC_0517.JPG

Icing Method

In a mixing bowl, add the vegan margarine, the coffee extract and just a drizzle of soya milk. Add the icing sugar bit at a time, you may not need the full 250g. Just keep adding and whisking until it forms nice, stiff(ish) peaks. Personally i prefer it if it's not too rock hard as it just gets really sweet.

Empty the icing into a piping bag and pipe over the cupcakes (make sure they are cooled first) or just use a spoon and smear it if you're not going to pro!

DSC_0519.JPG

Apologies for the sloppy icing, I'd left my piping nozzle at work. I garnished with a little ground almond and coffee granules but you can use whatever you prefer.

Hope you enjoy!

MH

Sort:  

These bad boys look amazingly delish yummy

Thank you. They're really really good. So easy too.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have never tried anything vegan and they look really good. i was a bit surprised as it shows you can make something look great by changing the ingredients. Must give it a try.

These days you can switch out pretty much anything for something that doesn't contain animal products and it can still taste amazing. These Cupcakes a classic example. If I gave them to someone I doubt they would even think about the fact they might be vegan.

Posted using Partiko Android

hi @mealhound
this recipe looks delicious, I love maffins and cupcakes !! But isn't the mayonnaise salty? What a strange ingredient for a dessert, I've never heard of it! But is this part of your job or is it your passion? How long have you been vegan?
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us

Hi @road2horizon thanks for your reply. I haven't been a Vegan for very long actually. I was veggie for a long time and now I'm a convert! The diet that most of the planet eats is so unsustainable on so many levels. As a chef I'm trying to find ways to change for the better and I really wanted to make a realistic diet that people who aren't currently vegan can look at and think "y'know I could eat that and I wouldn't feel like I was missing anything" and maybe help some others make the switch. That's the theme of the work that I will be putting out on steem. As for the Mayo it really doesn't taste like Mayo at all but the saltiness can be a good thing. I know it sounds kinda weird but I always think cakes should have a little salt in them. Not to make them salty but just to enhance the flavour the way we would season our soup or our main meals. It's honestly really great. So to answer your question it is both my job and my passion.

Posted using Partiko Android

it's really interesting. making all your knowledge of chef on steemit available is a beautiful thing and many people will be happy to be able to use your recipes. do you want to tell me what you mean when you say that "the diet that most of the planet eats is so unbearable on so many levels"? Isn't being a vegetarian or a vegan a position against animal exploitation?

Hi @road2horizon The word I used was unsustainable. Did you know that every vegan saves an average of 200 animals lives per year? Pretty crazy huh? I've been to a slaughter house and I think everyone who eats meat should visit one. Because if they make that decision then they need to do so with the whole story. Not with the prepackaged, safe and faceless image the supermarket promotes. So absolutely Its about animal welfare but its also about, for me at least, the damage that farming does to the planet. Meat production is wasteful, creates excessive pollution and the resources needed to feed the ever expanding cattle herds is totally unsustainable.

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you. what you say is very wise. Unfortunately, not only is there abuse in eating meat but also in using all of nature's resources. the man looks only at the monetary account and does not think of the damage to the environment and the animals, as if they were easily expendable. We need more education on this starting from schools

Hey @mealhound, thank you for your great recipe.
The last picture looks like there is a lot of cream on it, does not really look like VEGAN :P
I would def. eat it - My tummy would scream Yummy
Keep up the good work

I can assure you it is 100% vegan. The 'cream' you mentioned is butter icing made with vegan margarine. Glad you enjoyed! 9/10 I find you can make things vegan just by switching up a few ingredients.

Posted using Partiko Android

I couldn't even tell it was a vegan cake :D !

They definitely don't taste any different too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Some tasty snack you prepared there. They look so delicious to me and I think I can devour a three or four. Haha. Good thing you shared your recipe. Maybe someday, I can tell someone to bake some cupcakes for me using your recipe. I hope you don't mind.

Thanks for the share and please extend my warmest greeting to your baby daughter. Cheers!

Thank you so much and please feel free to use the recipe.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @mealhound! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Forget about the sloppy icing. Those cupcakes look delicious!
Thanks for sharing your recipe.

Do not keep stirring this as you will take the air out and it will create a dense cupcake.

Good tip. I did not know that. Some people say the more you stir the better (more homogeneous) the mix

It depends very much on what you are making. That's not a general rule for all cakes but it really works for this. The more you knead the dough the more the gluten stretches which is essential in things like bread but can make some cakes to dense. Thanks for the upvote!

Posted using Partiko Android

I see. Thank you for the great post and the response.

They look delicious. Will have to try them some time. Keep up the good work, @mealhound

I have never heard of putting mayo into cupcakes and I baked a lot of vegan cupcakes already :) But it doesn't sound that weird. I guess it makes them fluffy? But wouldn't you taste it inside? I don't even know if store bought mayo taste like the standard one as I make my own mayo from tofu :)

They look delicious and I'm sure that your daughter was very happy with them :)

Thank you for sharing your recipe and congratulations on your curie vote!

It honestly makes them soooo light. I don't know how but it really works and you can't taste Mayo or anything like it. If you get a chance to try please do and let me know. I make aquafaba mayo myself but not sure it would work with this. Thanks for reading!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97