Jalapeño Cooler – A Green Juice Recipe!

in #vegan6 years ago

jalapeno juice 2.jpg

“I decided that my 2018 starts again on February 1st. January was just a trial month.” I heard this meme from someone this week and I wholeheartedly agree!

Not because January was unproductive but simply because I am starting to feel like myself after my c-section in December. To that end, I started back to my fitness journey in earnest with BodyBoss. It’s a 12 week fitness program with a four week pre-training program. I am in week 1 of pre-training and it’s humbling but I’m doing it!

For food inspiration, I am returning to my nutrition blog and digging through my old journals here at home for recipes. Derek and I were working on a raw plant-based cookbook at one point so we have a lot of recipes kicking around here and on my blog.

In my journey, I found the blog post below from November 27, 2012. This juice recipe was one of my faves so I’m definitely going to recreate it this weekend.

Please let me know if you give it a try!

  • Kareen

Jalapeño Cooler – A Green Juice Recipe!

Are you back to your usual eating plans now that Thanksgiving is over? T-Day does not have to mark the start of a month-long binge.

So time to get back on track, yes?

I’m smack in the middle of another 60 day juice and green smoothie feast. And while I intended to juice through the Thanksgiving festivities, the day and its delicious aroma got the better of me. I’m back on track and gearing up for Christmas. I’m going to finish strong the rest of this feast. One thing I know for sure, if I had had quarts of this juice on T-Day, I would have been set!

jalapeno juice 3.jpg

Like me, you may be tempted to include more than one jalapeño. DON”T! One adds just the perfect bite.

Jalapeño Cooler

Yield: approx 60 oz
3 lbs Granny Smith apples
1 medium size pineapple, peeled
1 medium size cucumber, unpeeled
1 jalapeño

Method

  1. Thoroughly wash all the produce.
  2. Run all ingredients through your juicer. I have a Breville Fountain Elite.
  3. Strain (optional). I strain my juices for the smoothest possible result but either way it’s mouth watering
  4. Enjoy!

Today marks day 25 of our feast and I’ve had even better results this time around. Yes, I ate but there’s no guilt. I enjoyed a little bit of food and better than that, the company. Hope you all had a wonderful holiday!

– Kareen, MPH, RD

Sort:  

intriguing ingredients you are using here, think I will leave out the jalapeno though ;)

Yes, the jalapeno is definitely optional :) I find that it cuts the sweetness of the juice and adds a little fun kick to the day!

  • Kareen

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57