Easy, Healthy, Microwave, Vegan Chocolate Brownies : VeganChocolateContest

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Satisfy that Chocolate Craving Fast With Vegan Brownies

As a full-time freelancer, I often work weird hours. I created this recipe to eat healthier food and mostly to satisfy one of those late-evening chocolate cravings. It's similar to one of those microwave mug cake recipes, only it's made with healthy vegan ingredients. I find these brownies quite filling, so I'm not tempted to down the whole batch, and they can even serve as a decent meal replacement in a pinch.

Yes, you can enjoy dessert first!

The great thing is that you don't need a lot of ingredients, and these are things that you probably already stock up on. I play around with this basic recipe to come up with variations, and you might enjoy that too.

Ingredients

I've made this recipe several times. I've adjust ingredients to the things I had in my pantry, and if you enjoy playing around with recipes, go for it. Yes, you can play with your food too!

This is what worked well for me:

  • 1 large ripe banana (You want it to ripe enough to be easy to mash and sweet.)
  • 4 ounces of applesauce (I keep those 4-ounce serving containers of applesauce on hand.)
  • 1/2 cup of uncooked oatmeal (I used steel-cut, but just about any oatmeal will do.)
  • 1/4 cup of nut butter (I used chunky peanut butter, but go with what you like.)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 tablespoon of cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 tablespoon of oil (I like coconut oil, and olive oil also works.)
  • OPTIONAL: You can add sweetener if you want, but I'm alright with these without any additional sweetener. Good choices might include 2 tablespoons of coconut sugar. You don't need much because the applesauce, cinnamon, and banana already provide a sweet taste.

Note that in the picture, I finished them off with a dollop of non-dairy topping, but of course, that's another option if you have it on hand.

Directions

Simply mash up everything together very well. Sometimes it helps to warm up the peanut or nut butter to make it softer. Put the mixture into a microwave-safe bowl. I microwaved mine on high for about five minutes, but my microwave isn't very powerful, so your mileage might vary. If you use quick-cooking oatmeal, you also might not need to microwave it as long.

Tell Me About Your Genius Vegan Cooking Hacks

Vegan cooking doesn't have to be difficult or limiting. Let me know what you've come up with in the comments. I always upvote upon and comment upon RELEVANT comments. Thanks for dropping in.

Also, check out my previous post about my love affair with nutritional yeast: https://steemit.com/vegan/@theinsideout/nutritional-yeast-i-m-in-love-with-this-important-vegan-condiment-and-supplement

Sort:  

You food people are killing me to day with al the goodness I can't have sigh ... it's a human rights violation! FEED ME!

In the future, we will be able to send brownies over the blockchain. :) I'm sure Elon Musk is working on that.

I always suffer from cravings late at night that leave me eating something that I shouldn’t be at that hour 🙈 thank you for this healthy inspiration!

Thank you for your entry into the #veganchocolatecontest

Thanks for giving us so many creative ideas! I don't think it's bad to satisfy those late-night cravings. It's just probably prudent to do it in a healthy way.

Hi!
I love to make vegan brownies! One of my "hacks" is to add beans and dehydrated carrots to it. Yes, you heard right. :D
Beans are not only healthy, they also add a creamy texture to the brownies. The same is true for the carrots.
Where to get the carrots? It is easy: If you like juicing carrots, just take the pulp that remains after juicing. Don't throw it away.
You can find a more detailed instruction here:
https://steemit.com/vegan/@smallstepschange/-stay-healthy-chocolatey-delicious-vegan-brownies-without-refined-ingredients--1518216150

Thanks. You know, I think I've heard of this before. I'll have to try it. I am enjoy all of the creative chocolate ideas that have come from this contest.

Hi, nice! good luck! 👍

It sounds very tasty and I like all the ingredients!! It totally fits in my diet :) I'll definitely tty out this recipe. Thank you very much for sharing :)

Hah, you cook like I do. Measure, what measure? They look great!

Right, measurements are for peasants. Estimating is for queens. LOL

He better!I'm waiting ;)

So yummi!!

You got a 4.17% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @theinsideout!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 12.90 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @theinsideout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71258.50
ETH 3842.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43