Nutritional Yeast : I'm in Love With This Important Vegan Condiment and Supplement

in #vegan6 years ago

Why I'm in Love With Nutritional Yeast as a Vegan Condiment and Supplement

How can you not love these yellowish flakes that add a sort of cheesy flavor to food? It's easy to add it to a variety of different foods to add flavor and nutrition. I've used it sprinkled on popcorn, in soup, on sandwiches, and of course, on pasta, rice, and beans.

In the US, nutritional yeast is also sometimes called savory yeast, nooch, or even hippie dust. It may have other names in other countries. Nutritional yeast comes from fungi and is inactive. You use it as a condiment, and it isn't the kind of yeast that you use to bake bread. You can, however, sprinkle it on bread for extra vitamins and a nutty, cheesy taste.

Also, don't confuse nutritional yeast with brewer's yeast. Brewer's yeast will taste bad on your popcorn, trust me.

How Nutritious is Nutritional Yeast

If you're a vegan or even a backsliding vegetarian, you can rely upon nutritional yeast to supply you with some nutrition that is difficult to obtain in your typical diet. It's filled with an array of B vitamins, for example. It often comes fortified with vitamin B-12, which is difficult for vegans to obtain. The yeast doesn't naturally produce B-12, but manufacturers use B-12 from bacteria cultures to mix with their products. The product also supplies zinc.

One tablespoon will give you:

  • More than the DV of B1, B2, B3, B6, and B12 (B12, if fortified)
  • About 20 percent of the DV of zinc
  • You also get iron, selenium, and potassium, compete protein, and thiamine
  • About 60 calories and 5 grams of carbs

Many sources report (citations at the end) that this tasty condiment can help lower cholesterol and improve immune function. Some say it helps people with digestive issues too. This is no fad diet food, it's affordable, and it actually tastes good.

Sources

https://draxe.com/nutritional-yeast/
https://www.fitnessmagazine.com/recipes/healthy-eating/nutrition/nutritional-yeast/
photos: Pixabay

Tell Me How Much You Love Nutritional Yeast

You can purchase nutritional yeast in a bag or shaker container. If you've tried it, let me know. Otherwise, I'm always open to other vegan options that offer good taste, lots of nutrition, and an affordable price. Even if you're not a vegan or vegetarian, this handy condiment can still help you add nutrition and flavor to your food.

I upvote and comment upon RELEVANT comments. Have a great day!

Sort:  

I also love nutritional yeast. But u know what's funny? The first 2 or 3 times I absolutely hated it!! It was like the most disgusting thing I had ever eaten. Then I tried it again and I loved it 😅 maybe I had to get used to it or something?! 😄

I liked it right away, but maybe it depends what you add it to. I'm all about that salty, cheesy stuff. I guess I'm so excited because I just discovered it. Posting here helps me share and reinforce ideas for myself. Thanks for stopping by! I followed your excellent blog.

The most amazing meal (in my opinion!) you can use them for is vegan hclf mac and cheese.. I'm going to post the recipe in a couple of days.. Spoiler alert: it's absolutely delicious 😋😅

OK, if you want to drop a link here, I'm fine with it. Thanks!

You know, I like to invent my own recipes, so I have to try it again and see if it really works and tastes good. Then I can write it down and post it here. Maybe I can do it tomorrow 😁

Great. I enjoy that too. I wish I was better at taking photos because there are so many pro-level food photographers here.

Love, love, love nooch. We use it in so many dishes from your scramble to seitan. Nice post, you have a new follower!

Love finding new vegan accounts on Steemit.

Thanks, following you too. I'm sort of a sometimes backsliding vegan, but I'm really working on it. :)

Thanks for sharing this post..
I like this food.
Best of luck.

This post has received a 2.73 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @theinsideout.

This post has received a 32.52 % upvote from @morwhale thanks to: @theinsideout.

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 32.51% Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69300.96
ETH 3785.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68