Have You Been Programmed To Make Yourself Sick?

in #vegan6 years ago

What do I mean by programmed to make yourself sick. If you have been following the news of late you will see report after report showing the health benefits of giving up meat. We all were told growing up to eat our veggies, but we were never told to stop eating meat or at the very least make it the smallest part of our diet

When I think back I am hard pressed to think about a dinner that didn't include meat, if you are like me then you and I were conditioned from an early age to eat an unhealthy diet. In the western world this extends way beyond meat, but to all processed foods. Be honest with yourself and ask if you think a Big Mac large fries and A diet Coke is a well rounded meal. I used to think that way, save the Diet Coke. I wanted regular Coke.

Now that you are grown up and making decisions on your own would you be willing to change your diet by ditching processed foods and meat and maybe even dairy too. Would you do it if you found out that you would reduce your risk of a premature death by 30%. Would you do it if it meant you didn't have to undergo heart surgery, or chemo or perhaps the idea of not spending the rest of your life shitting in a bag attached to your body is enough to incentivize you.

Amazingly enough even with all of that information more than 90% of you will not make the switch. The funny thing is though it is your brains fault. Your brain is wired to protect you from scary and difficult things. This is a serious lesson that can change your life. We need to take control of our lives, so we need to reprogram ourselves to do the things that will benefit our lives, not just do the things that are easy. Easy sounds great, but easy doesn't get you anywhere. Take a look at this video with Mel Robbins.

Ok , now that you know you need to change and you know how to do it, whats next? I would start by going through my fridge and pantry and throwing things out that are going to kill me. I would subscribe to DR. Gregers (nutritionfacts) channel on YouTube for the latest updates on dietary research and visit his website www.nutritionfacts.org. You also may want to take a look at this video from DR. Jong, it is fascinating and pulled at my heart strings, but also opened my eyes. You can also ignore all of this information and just go back to doing what is easy. The funny thing is though that easy comes with a price. You may not pay it now, but you and your family will some day - The choice is yours!

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Amen on Dr. Greger, just watched one of his lectures the other day. Caldwell Esselstyn is another inspiring doctor to check out.

Thanks for the info I hadn't heard of Caldwell Esselstyn. I will look into it. Update I do know the face and the info, but I didn't know his name.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66