Many Hands Make Light Work- Making Almond Butter With My Girls

in #vegan5 years ago (edited)

IMG_3229.JPG

Last autumn I harvested the almonds from the trees on the land I am living on. I still have some of them left and decided to make some almond butter with them. I make almond milk also every few days. If you have never tasted fresh home made almond milk and almond butter, then wow you are in for a treat. Both are very easy to make as long as you have a blender and a little bit of time, especially when making the butter.

I don't have a very good quality blender, so it takes me a while to make my nut butters, but it is so worth it. They taste amazing and cost me nothing, as I am living off grid, and the almonds come from the land.

IMG_3200.JPG

My girls helping to deshell the almonds. All three of them like to get involved.

IMG_3206.JPG

That is my soon to be 2 year old using the mortar and pestle, she has to as her sisters do!

IMG_3219.JPG

All the nuts are now de shelled and ready to go in the oven. I roast them for 10-15 minutes. It all really depends on how old your oven is, so keep an eye on them.

IMG_3221.JPG

15 minutes later and the nuts are roasted and ready to be made into butter.

IMG_3225.JPG

As my blender is not that powerful I divide the nuts into two batches.

IMG_3226.JPG

I then take myself, the nuts and my blender outside. I blend the nuts for a few minutes and then have to turn it off scrape the nuts of the side. My blender only has one speed now and tends to let the mixture build up on the inside of the container.

IMG_3229.JPG

so after a few attempts, I have the consistency that I like. If you find your butter is too dry, just add coconut oil. If I am lucky this jar will last us a few days.

IMG_3230.JPG

Then it is time to taste it, I did try some on my finger first, but that is now such a good shot, so I spread some on a corn cake. How good does that look. But wait there is more.

IMG_3231.JPG

On top of that I put some sliced banana and there you have it, yum one of my favourite snacks. Add some hemp seeds to it and boom it is amazing. Now my girls get to lick all the containers clean, one of their favourite things to do.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

You are so lucky to have almond trees on your land :) I love almond butter and almond milk is my favorite. I don't buy it very often as there is a lot of water needed to grow almonds commercially but as I said you are lucky to grow them so you have the luxury to enjoy delicious almond milk very often :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

thanks for dropping by @delishtreats, and yes I am very lucky. The trees here in Spain need very little water and some of them get a bit damaged last year as it was wetter then usual. A lot more people grow them in drier areas around here.
Hope you have a great weekend too x

Yum! Oh to have glorious nut trees growning on the land you live! That's awesome. And, a dream if mine to some extent. Home made almond milk is literally the best! Hazelnut milk is also great and much more likely/ sustainable where i live. I have been heavily dreaming of his as a norm lately. I started making over night oats with chia seeds, oasted nuts, raisins, hemp hearts and blueberries. I add milk to make it all come together and long for that milk to be almond. But, it's a bit far fetched when non-sprayed fair trade almonds are so expansive where i live! Enjoy your yummy nourishment! Good luck with things perhaps you can get a blender that will be a bit less stressful to use.

Actually hazelnut milk is my favourite but I only make it when I am in Ireland as they grow in abundance their. Your breakfast sounds amazing. Hopefully I can one day, afford a better blender. I hope you are well x

This is awesome. Thank you for sharing your recipe because we have many almond trees here in El Salvador, but didn't even think of making my own peanut butter, which looks really easy to do.

it is so easy and so gooood, it never lasts long. Enjoy making it xx

That looks wonderful! 😍 I'm a huge fan of almond butter. My mother makes it at home too.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is yum, but so expensive if you were to buy it, esp in Ireland. I hope you are well Aisling x


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Wow, that's so cool. Thanks for the tuturial, never knew it was easy to do. And what a fun way to bonds with your kids.

they love helping to make it and it is so delicious and nutritious, thanks for dropping by @sherylneil, I have not been so active of late, mainly just posting xxx

wau, almonds, pure brain food, pure neuron conections, so nice your butter!!! I´ll try it as soon as I can.

thanks @byronmushrooms, almonds are amazing. Have fun making it, it is delicious xx

Goddess girl, there aint nothing better than nut butter and banana on rice cakes! Except maybe - nut butter on my homegrown apples, that I'm eating right now - nom nom

oh nice, I love apples and would love to grow some, too dry where I am unfortunately but i can get some from up the mountains so they do not have to travel too far. xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93