Crispy Flatbread with Za´atar - Fruits and Veggies Monday

in #vegan6 years ago

Hi guys and happy new week! Have you tried or even heard from the spice mix called za´atar?

It's an oriental spice mix with sesame that is very common in Syria, Jordan, Palestine, and Lebanon and eaten together with a flatbread for breakfast. The flatbread or manakish as it is called is like a pizza bread, and you simply add this spice mix with olive oil on the bread and bake it for 10-12 minutes. It is usually served with fresh veggies and olives, sometimes also cheese.
When I was a teenager I worked in a pizzeria one summer, and the owner and his family were from Syria. They always served this breakfast for us before we started to work, I loved it so much and when I saw a picture someone posted on Instagram the other day, I remembered the flavor and how much I had loved it back then! So I decided to try out to make my own! I didn't have sesame at home though, so I just mixed the dried herbs with olive oil and added it to my flatbread.
It turned out so delicious that I have decided to share the recipe for the base and the za'atar with you.

For the base, I used 1 1/2 cup sorghum flour, 1/2 cup chickpea flour and 1/2 cup water + 2 tbsp olive oil and some sea salt. Just mixed it and kneaded the dough for a couple of minutes. Rolled it out with a rolling pin and added the herbal mix* with olive oil. I baked it until colden and crispy, about 15-20 minutes at 200-degree Celsius.

  • For the za´atar you need some oregano, thyme, sumac, sea salt or kosher salt, marjoram and sesame (I didn't have any at home, so I made mine without but added some pressed garlic instead.), mix in a blender but dont overmix it, then add some olive oil and spread it on your flatbread. Bake and enjoy warm with fresh veggies! So delicious and worth trying!

Pizza pizza (3 von 5).jpg

At the end of September, we are going to Spain by car, a long road trip from Vienna to Malaga, and I am already so excited about this trip (the stay will be business related, but the trip is only for my little family), not only because we are going to see many new places and make new adventures the 3 of us, but also because I finally will meet my dear friends @trucklife-family and @celestialcow !! These 2 amazing people are my absolute role models in so many ways, and to finally be able to meet them in person is like a dream that is coming true! I am feeling so grateful for platforms like Steemit that gives me the possibility to meet and get to know like-minded people like these 2 women!
This year I have already met many new friends that I have got to know through social media. This is absolutely one of the greatest benefits of being active on social media platforms! You get to know amazing people that you feel connected with!

Pizza pizza (4 von 5).jpg

Because it is Monday, of course, I want to bring this inspiration to my dear Lena @lenasveganliving and her amazing #fruitsandveggiesmonday !
Read and join the party HERE

Enjoy!!

Pizza pizza (2 von 5).jpg

I am a proud member of:

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg


karma (2 von 16)-2.jpg

Love, Niina


Cant get enough? You can alo find me here:

BLOG & INSTAGRAM & FACEBOOK


Thank you all! ❤
I want to inspire you to live your dreams, eat delicious, wholesome, nourishing, healthy food, and keep a creative mind. We all can do that, now!

Health starts inside our mind.


All content and images are mine and original. If you want to share my work, you are welcome. Just remember to tag me.

Niina vegan Niinja Logo.png

Sort:  

Wow, It's looking so delicious!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-10T21:16:48
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 670.22/800.00
Total Photos: 76
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Colorful and nourishing - my favorite combination! And I love the photos! Your upcoming trip sounds amazing! Hope you have a great time!

Oh thank you so much my dear!!
xx

Wooow I love these colours ♥ Looks super delicious!!!

Oh thank you dear Sofia!!
xx

za´atar sounds like a spaceship :D But it does look interesting and tasty 💚

Haha yes love that!! Thank you, it is!:)

I definitely have to make this one, it looks scrumptious Sweetie 🍒 🍌🍑🌿🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Oh thank you lovely!! Happy you like it!;)

Always a pleasure Sweetie 🌸💖🌸

guess who just got himself a jar of zaatar!!?? ;-) i was wondering what else i could do with it except labane.. but of course! vegan pizzaa!!! sorry flatbread

Oh yes, that is so great!! Happy you have some to try Alex my dear!!

Oh yes, that is so
Great!! Happy you have some to
Try Alex my dear!!

                 - vegan.niinja


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I am so excited about getting to see you and this looks yum, I already have some za atar xxx

Oh yes me too!!
xx

This recipe looks divine and I love the little story behind this Syrian dish, thanks for sharing! ✨

Thank you my lovely!!

looks delicious and colorful again!

Thank you my dear!!
x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56