Sorta Pho **(Cheap + Vegan!!)**

in #vegan6 years ago

So just like in my previous meal posts, I never really have a plan when going to the grocery store. (Working on getting better at planning my meals and what not, the best method for optimal health and weight loss, my two main goals) Being a college student with a very limited income, I aim for low-cost vegan items and figure out what to make with them on the fly! Its like my mini, less high stakes version of Chopped.

Anyway, while in the store I saw these fun rice noodles, and was inspired to make some Pho, or something that sort of resembled it. I have never made or even had Pho before, but I decided to give it a whirl.

Stuff I Bought:

Rice Noodles......................................$1.89
Chopped Collard Greens.....................$1.49 (Clearance price woo!)
Frozen Onions & Bell Peppers.............$1.39
Frozen Broccoli & Cauliflower.............$1.39

Stuff I had at home (Guesses on Prices):

Low Sodium Veggie Broth..................$1.50
Frozen Mushrooms...........................$1.39/2 (I already used half the bag) =$0.70
Tempeh............................................$2.50 (My brand was not gluten free, but there are many GF varieties)

IMG_01091.jpg
Specific Brands of the ingredients used

Seasonings Used (I don't put a price on these since you can have them for months)

Low Sodium Teriyaki Sauce
Gluten Free Low Sodium Tamari
Chili Powder
Poultry Seasoning
Garlic
Sriracha (As a topper)

IMG_01101.jpg
Specific Brands of Seasonings Used (Sriracha Not Pictured)

I started off by sautéing the frozen onions and bell peppers as well as the mushrooms until thawed. The water from the veggies makes it so you don't need to use any oil, avoiding added calories. Because the broccoli cauliflower mix was in a microwave steam bag, those were steamed in the microwave. Once thawed, I added collard greens and chili powder, poultry seasoning, garlic and a mix of teriyaki and tamari sauces.

IMG_01111.jpg
The veggies in the sauté pan! (Note to self: Use a bigger pan next time!)

During this time, I had a pot of vegetable broth starting to boil. Once it was boiling, I threw the rice noodles in. They only took about 4 minutes to cook so once they were cooked, I removed the noodles and added the vegetables and more seasoning to the broth to simmer for about 5 minutes.

While the veggies and broth simmered together for more flavor, I cut the block of tempeh into cubes and coated it with teriyaki sauce and then pan fried it. I didn't use any oil, just some of the broth and the teriyaki sauce. Because tempeh is already fully cooked, this process was mostly just to get it warm.

Next I added the noodles back into the broth. I pulled out a big soup bowl and filled it with the noodle/vegetable/broth mixture and topped it with some tempeh cubes.

IMG_01121.jpg
Here's a picture of the final result!!

Overall, this made two big bowls with a tempeh topper and another two bowls without the tempeh. (I ended up cooking another block to top the other two servings because I am a big tempeh fan)

With adding the additional block of tempeh, the total for the whole batch comes to ...... $13.36

Meaning the cost per meal is $3.34, PERFECT for the college student budget.

Sort:  

Very cool to see how you broke the pricing down to show it doesn't have to be expensive to eat well. Looks delicious--I love tempeh!

Thank you! People always tell me that I must be rich because I eat plant based foods, it can be expensive if you want it to be.. just like any diet!

I'm definitely going to try this. Thanks for posting the recipe and pics.

Thank you! Make sure you taste test as you go! The broth dilutes the flavor of the spices so make sure that you add enough!

I love Pho, and this one looks perfect! You gave me the idea to make it now actually :)

Happy to inspire!!

Hello @veganbunnylover, upv0t3
This is a free service for new steemit users, to support them and motivate them to continue generating valuable content for the community.
<3 This is a heart, or an ice cream, you choose.

:)


R4ND0M:
6911 2926 1141 7318
7654 4224 9909 1031
7894 9245 9275 1274
8965 7580 4452 8330

Congratulations @veganbunnylover! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @veganbunnylover! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73