vegan cannelloni

in #vegan6 years ago

When I first "went vegan" I created a Pinterest board with a ridiculous number of recipes. One of the was for an eggplant parmesan sub- which I did try, and it was ok. What I did like about it was the sauce, well, two sauces to be exact. A marinara sauce and an eggplant "cheese" sauce. Both gave me the inspiration to create my own take on spinach and ricotta cannelloni, but without the ricotta, of course!

My boyfriend's family is Italian, and so pasta of any kind is very important to master. I've tried making a lasagne with the same sauces, but it was a bit dry and I like my lasagne so saucy that it pretty much falls over when you put it on the plate- I don't want it perfectly stacked like you see in restaurants. You could try this cannelloni with tofu, I did when I first made it, but have since swapped it out for mushrooms. If you wanted to use tofu for the protein and iron etc, just crumble it into the spinach mixture.

Ingredients:

Marinara sauce-

2 tbsp olive oil
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1/4 tsp chili flakes (or to taste)
1 x can diced tomatoes
2 Tbsp tomato paste
1 tsp dried oregano
1 Tbsp coconut sugar (or brown sugar, other sweetener)
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp ground pepper
1/4 C basil leaves, finely chopped ( I don't use basil because I'm not a huge fan, but the original recipe does call for it if you prefer)

Eggplant "cheese" sauce-

1 medium to large eggplant
1 tbsp olive oil
3/4 cup plant-milk (I used almond and coconut blend)
1 tsp egg replacer powder (but you can use any thickener- potato starch, tapioca flour)
4 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/8 tsp sea salt
1/8 tsp ground pepper

Other:

About 10 good sized white mushrooms
12 small cannelloni tubes- though my mixture made 13 with some to spare so if you have a bigger dish then you can probably fill about 15 small tubes
Packet of frozen spinach

Image.png

I start by making the eggplant sauce so that while I'm stuffing the cannelloni tubes the marinara can simmer and it saves time.

Method:

1.Peel and cut the eggplant into cubes and cook in a saucepan with oil over medium heat until tender. I like to be able to break it down with my spoon- the softer you get it now, the smoother your sauce will be. Set aside to cool

Image-2.png.jpg

2.Prepare the frozen spinach according to the instructions. Don't be afraid to use frozen spinach, it's cheap, easy and you can always have some on hand!

Image5.jpg

3.Process the mushrooms in a food processor or chop finely and cook in oil adding drained spinach and just warming through- it will all get cooked in the oven anyway

Image-3.jpg

4.To make the eggplant sauce, add the cooked and cooled eggplant to a high-speed blender (I have a nutri-ninja) and add all the "cheese" sauce ingredients. Blend until smooth.

5.Pour half to 2/3 of the sauce into the pan with the mushrooms and spinach and mix through

Image4.jpg

This is when I make the marinara sauce- I just use the same pan I used for the eggplant to save washing up!

6.Add oil, garlic and chilli flakes to pan and cook for two minutes until fragrant

7.Add all of the other marinara sauce ingredients, bring to boil and then simmer, covered, for 15 minutes

8.To stuff the tubes, I put the mushroom mixture into a Ziploc bag and snip the end off- I used to do it with a spoon which to forever I'm glad I thought of this- a piping bag or similar would also work. Pipe the mixture into the tubes

Image8.jpg

9.Smooth a little of the eggplant sauce onto the bottom of your roasting dish

10.Line the tubes up in the dish and smother with the marinara sauce

Image6.jpg

11.Top the dish with any remaining eggplant sauce

Image7.jpg

12.Bake according to cannelloni instructions, mine says 190C for 30 minutes

We serve it with crusty bread and olives in true Italian style!

thumbnail_file.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @veganrabbit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This looks so good! Hello from a fellow Australian vegan :)

Hi! Have just followed you ☺️ love the vegan community and how supportive everyone is. Looking forward to watching your journey x

Followinggg : )

Congratulations @veganrabbit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This looks amazing! I'm definitely going to have to try your recipe out, possibly for dinner for New Years Eve. I also wanna try the eggplant sauce on pasta like an alfredo. Can't wait to see more of your other recipes!

Looks great, I'm hungry now!

Step 1. - Take everything you created on Pinterest with a ridiculous number of recipes, and plonk 'em on Steemit.

Step 2. - Sit back & become rich! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68622.46
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66