Feelgoodfood: Grünkohl (Kale)

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

gruenkohl.jpg

This is my entry to @celestialcow 's Healing Food Challenge and I hope you'll try because it does just that: make you feel gooood.

In the region where I live, the Rheinland, we love our kale. Rule is, we harvest our kale only after the first frost of the winter, because it's double-delicious then. My grandma used to make big bowls of it with potatoes an Kassler, which is pork. Today, I will tell you about a healthy variant of this, originally very fatty, dish. Don't worry, you will feel just as good eating it, if not better for there is no animal cruelty involved.

  1. dice smoked tofu (200-400g) and fry until crisp - set aside
  2. chop and glaze onions (500g)
  3. add thoroughly washed (sand!) and pieced kale (1000g)
  4. add vegetable broth (400ml)
  5. simmer for 45 minutes

You then have the option to add diced potatoes (500g) and cook for another 20 minutes or do just that and prepare a potato mash like I did in the picture. Adding the crispy tofu last and 3 tablespoons of mustard is not an option though, preferably my regional favorite:

Düsseldorfer Mostert

This dish tastes like home to me. It reminds me of a time, when all I had to take care off was my homework for elementary. And it's mainly kale with potatoes, and who doesn't love that, seriously?! Oh, wait! The smoked tofu and the mustard are processed food, but I can't help it. They just need to be in there ;)

Sort:  

Ohhhh kale and potatoes. I haven't tried that yet but this looks soo delicious :)

This is such a great combo! I love kale and mashed potatoes are so comforting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70