You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I went from being a hardcore meat eater to a passionate vegan

in #veganism8 years ago

I am also a self-confessed meat-lover in somewhat of a transition period. No matter which way Iook at it, I'm finding harder to justify eating meat on the grounds of health reasons, animal welfare and concern for the environment. I've been eating more and more vegetables and whole foods daily and less and less meat. I think it is only a matter of time until my conversion is complete....and I'm feeling good about it. I've lost a bit of excess fat and have more energy already.

Sort:  

Bingo! That's how I later felt about eating meat and why I ultimately decided to remove it from my diet (along with dairy and eggs, etc.). Once you see the full scope of the damage that's being perpetuated as a result of animal agriculture, it's hard to support it. I wish you the best of luck in your full conversion! I recommend Colleen Patrick-Goudreu's book The 30-Day Vegan Challenge for anyone who is just starting out.

I'll check out that book, thanks. I've already cut (most) dairy and have noticed a big difference in my digestion. Milk is gone completely but I still have a bit of fresh yoghurt and cheese sometimes.

You're welcome. It sounds like you're well on your way!

I know that finding a good vegan cheese is especially tough but there is one company that makes excellent gourmet vegan cheeses that you may want to check out: Miyoko's Kitchen I only wish they were available in South America!

It really depends on what you eat. The best meat I had came from the most rural place... and I ate more than I knew I could eat, it was like eating clouds, and I was hardly hungry for the remainder of the week and got so much done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3749.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66