๐Ÿฝ Stay healthy! ๐ŸŒฟ ๐Ÿ ๐Ÿ…๐Ÿฅ’๐Ÿ‹Sweet Potato Swiss Chard Chickpea Curry ๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜‹

in #veganwednesday โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

vegan_curry.jpg

Hi fellow steemians, ๐Ÿ’•

Today's healthy food inspiration is a delicious Sweet Potato Swiss Chard Chickpea Curry!๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜‹

All you need is:

  • 3 sweet potatoes (chopped) ๐Ÿ 
  • 400 g fresh Swiss chard (cut) ๐ŸŒฟ
  • 1 can (~450g) of chickpeas (drained)
  • 700 ml vegetable broth
  • 500 ml tomato sauce ๐Ÿ…
  • 2 onions (chopped)
  • 4 garlic cloves (chopped fine)
  • 150 g quinoa
  • 1 cm fresh ginger (minced)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • for decoration: cucumber ๐Ÿฅ’, cilantro, lemon zest ๐Ÿ‹

Let's prepare it! ๐Ÿ˜

Heat a large saucepan over a medium heat and add a little bit of the vegetable broth. Once hot, add the chopped onion, the paprika, ground cumin, ground coriander, turmeric and the cinnamon and let it cook for about 5 minutes until the onion becomes golden and translucent. Now add the finely chopped garlic and the minced ginger and let it cook for another five minutes.

Next, add the drained chickpeas to the pan together with the chopped sweet potatoes and the tomato sauce. Also add about three quarters of the remaining vegetable broth to cover the chickpeas and sweet potatoes and bring to a simmer, stirring to mix everything together.

Cover with a lid and simmer over medium-to-low heat for about 25 minutes. Open the lid and stir regularly every now and then.

Meanwhile, cook the quinoa according to the packet instructions.

If you feel that the potatoes are becoming soft and are starting to break apart, add the cut Swiss chard and close the lid again. Let it simmer for another 5 minutes until the chard has shrunk and the sauce has thickened. Top up with a little more vegetable broth during the cooking if you feel it is needed.

Taste the curry and season to taste with salt, pepper or the other herbs and spices.

Serve immediately with the quinoa and garnish it with chopped cucumber, cilantro and lemon cest.

curry2.jpg

Put it all on your plate and enjoy!

curry.jpg

Yummy!!

Hopefully, I could inspire you to include some delicious veggies into your everyday life! ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ’ช

This is my entry for the #veganwednesday contest hosted by @heart-to-heart!

Good luck and best wishes!
CU,
Chris aka smallstepschange ๐Ÿพ

hi_steemit.png

If you like my post, please ...

Sort: ย 

May I ask a quick question @smallstepschange - what is the vegetable broth in this recipe? Homemade or ready made? I just like to check the ingredients before sharing recipes around, as many people would use a can of veg soup or make up broth from granules such as 'Bouillion' when a recipe calls for vegetable broth. But if your broth is homemade, would it be possible to include the recipe for it (or link to a previous post with the recipe in it). Many thanks :-)

Looks like a fantastic meal! I don't think I've ever used cucumber to garnish a curry, but that's a great idea. I bet it adds a nice crunch and fresh flavor paired with the spices of the curry!

Hey, I think it fits perfectly! Although, one can certainly go overboard with using cucumber. This reminds me of a video a friend of mine once sent me in order to make fun of me:


haha CU, Chris

That guy is pretty funny! ๐Ÿคฃ

He is my favorite person on the interwebs. I love him.

I'm with you @plantstoplanks, never would have thought but love the idea! =D So creative!

I did make this today, delicious! Minus the cilantro because it tastes like soap to me LOL and the lemon zest. But if anyone else is thinking about trying it, they should very good;)

Awesome! I love chick peas, I believe I heard somewhere they help lose weight. Iโ€™ll have to google it to check into that:)

Chick peas like most of the other legumes (maybe not peanuts because they are quite high in calories) support weight management. And they are super healthy.
Look for example here: https://nutritionfacts.org/2015/12/24/which-works-better-adding-beans-or-portion-control/

Youโ€™re awesome! Thank you for sending me the link. Iโ€™m so glad I followed you :)

Looks really good Chris! I love curry meals like this recipe. Love your tag line BTW: small steps ๐Ÿพ should indeed never be underestimated.

Hey bettercookies, welcome on Steemit and thanks for stopping by! :)
CU, Chris

Fantastic, I love to see quinoa incorporated instead of a rice. Not that there is anything wrong with rice etc but the quinoa is just amazing.

Your doing a great job man, keep it up.

Yeah, I like to alternate. Sometimes I choose rice, sometimes quinoa, sometimes buckwheat, sometimes wheat, sometimes amaranth. etc. :)
thanks so much! :)

Great great recipe again! So healthy and delicious, exactly how I love it!๐Ÿ˜

Thanks Niina!!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Looks delicious! It is so good, by the way, to have โ€žuseful friendsโ€œ ;) as you would encourage me a lot!

I'm so hungry. I HAVE to stop looking at these before I go to the gym. It makes me stand around just wanting to eat the walls lol. Love it, another delicious recipe @smallstepschange <3 Thanks for coming back this week! We missed you <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61