Classic VW Beetles in SE Asia, Volkswagen “Type 1” … Chiang Mai – Vehicle Photography

in #vehiclephotography5 years ago (edited)

Here in northern Thailand, I’m surprised at the number of old Volkswagens that I see around town. 

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Little car, big in Asia

Every few days, I see another original VW Beetle here on the streets of Chiang Mai. While this old classic has virtually disappeared from the USA and Canada, it remains rather common and quite popular in Chiang Mai. And many of them remain in very good shape. 

A Beetle by any other name

The old Beetle was known officially as the Type 1, and unofficially as the “Bug.”  It was also called the “Love Bug,” and when I was a kid, we jokingly referred to it as “Hitler’s Handbag.

The old Beetle was a very basic, no-frills economy car with a rear-mounted engine and rear-wheel drive. Surprisingly, it became the most manufactured car ever, with over 21 million sold over its 5-decade run.   

The Beetle was first manufactured in Germany in 1938.

In 1974, the company stopped producing the old Type 1 Beetle, and replaced it with the front-wheel-drive Golf.    

Remade, remodeled

In 1988, however, the company introduced its “New Beetle,” which featured a stylish update of the old Type 1 model.

Over the 15 months that I’ve lived here, I’ve seen only 2 or 3 of those New Beetles, and I managed to get a photo of only 1 of them. Albeit a very nice shiny yellow one.   
Location – Chiang Mai, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Vehicle Photography contest.

Sort:  

Good photografhy of car.

So cool! I saw them often in Chiang Mai. Also the T1 or T2 Caravelle. Love these old VDub.😍

Awesome Cars! Growing up as a child, I loved this car.

I adore these bugs. They look great !!!

Great cars

The old Beetle was known officially as the Type 1, and unofficially as the “Bug.” It was also called the “Love Bug,” and when I was a kid, we jokingly referred to it as “Hitler’s Handbag.

Hehe. over here in Nigeria, we call them tortoise car. The body looks like a tortoise's shell.

K reckon you could find them in good condition too. Only that they are relegated to low-cost driving schools. It's rare to see a beetle that isn't being used for that purpose

Wao great photography.I really like old cars.All cars looks so beautiful.I want to ride these cars.Thanks for sharing.

I love these old cars 🚗🚗🚗so cute.

Lovely and hardy Beetles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63849.10
ETH 3132.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89