Oh, Hey! Another 1960s Volkswagen in SE Asia, Volkswagen “Type 3” … Chiang Mai – Vehicle Photography

How to count cars, in German. 


[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

1, 2, 3 … 1500

When I came across this old car parked at the side of a quiet street near the city center, I was surprised to see that it was a Volkswagen – a little-known model called the Volkswagen “1500.”

This model was known officially as the Volkswagen Type 3. As stated in my earlier posts, the Volkswagen Type 1 was the classic Beetle (aka the “Bug”), and the Volkswagen Type 2 was classic Minibus (aka the “Hippie Bus”).

Notchback to the futuristic dud

The design of the “1500” was what was called a “notchback.”  It was a 2-door model with a short trunk. It was manufactured in the 1960s through to the early 1970s.    

The chassis of the “1500” as similar to that of the Beetle. However, even though the “1500” had a modern design, it never became even remotely as popular as the iconic Beetle.

Still running, still shining

Be that as it may, apparently someone in Thailand seems to have liked it, and maybe still likes it. This one may have a few dents and scratches, but it still runs, and it still shines.  My previous VW post – "Classic VW Beetles in Chiang Mai"
My previous VW post – "VW Beetle Hippie Vans in Chiang Mai" My previous “vehicle” post – "Wheelchair-Friendly Motorbike"
My previous “vehicle” post – "Semi-personal taxi / mini-bus, providing door-to-door service"
Location – Chiang Mai, on Google Maps

This is my entry in @juliank’s Vehicle Photography contest.

Sort:  

I often wonder how people are able to preserve items for such a long period of time. The owner of this car must, most likely, be a conservative old man who does not like trendy things.

Thanks for sharing.

Yes, I'm sure it's an old man who bought the car years ago, who treasured it and took great care of it.

For us, it's a great little glimpse into the grand history of Volkswagen. But for him, it's probably nothing more than his fine, trusty, slightly aging automobile / mode of transportation. :-)

True words. Absolutely true. I hope that he uses it for a longer time before the sunset of life overtakes him.

wow that's an almost 60yrs car !! i wonder how much is the maintenance. nice retro feel though.

PS : since you're into photography, maybe you have an instagram account, check out share2steem new dapp to EASILY autopost instagram posts to steemit.

Nope, no instagram. No Facebook, and no Twitter, either. I'm on Steemit cuz it's the finest platform, withe the highest-quality posts.

Of course, the crypto rewards are also great. And they have a great future.
Cheers.

haha well said ! lets work towards a better future !

Steemit will be a great platform

Nice photografhy of car.

Nice post. Here is a photo of my 1968 type 3 VW, this is however a fastback and a 1600.
050.jpg
I love these old VW's.

Thanks for that. Just this evening, I found a "Squareback" (aka "Variant"), and I intend to make a follow-up post re that.

Meanwhile, your "Fastback" adds a relevant and colorful bit of info to this little series.

Cheers!

Thank you so much, my fastback actually belonged to my grandfather and 2 of my uncles had squarebacks, I would love to have an example of all three these type 3 cars in my possession.

Hi @majes.tytyty
your photographs are amazing . its looking that car belongs to an old model but the way you have captured the photo of this car is amazing. its looks that you are fond of photography and car like mine.
FB_IMG_1538194991170.jpg

Nice. Is that a Ferrari? I kinda prefer Maseratis, but if a Ferrari get's my from point A to point B, I'm happy.

Still a very nice looking car...

You got a 60.27% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @majes.tytyty!

Real antiques on wheels. After all, a car is about 50 years old.

Now and then we see some pretty beat up VWs here in Mindanao, but now and then there will be one in super even better than new condition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65