Abingdon Air & Country Show 2019 - By Steve J HuggettsteemCreated with Sketch.

abingdon 2019 - by steve j huggett (4).jpg

The 1st airshow of the year and it was cold, only about 10c opposed to the 20c only a week earlier, crazy weather. I was full of a head cold, hadn't slept much, but we still managed to be on the road at 7am. Reaching the airfield just after 9.30am.

I like Abingdon, it's not too far away and makes for a good opportunity to get some camera practice in before the year's big events.

Richard Goodwin flys the Red Anana Pitts Special and he certainly knows how to fly the thing! Thats is main sponsors own R8 going down the track with him!

abingdon 2019 - by steve j huggett (3).jpg

This year his new project also made an appearance the "Jet Pitts"

abingdon 2019 - by steve j huggett (5).jpg

abingdon 2019 - by steve j huggett (6).jpg

Yep, that is a small jet engine, the plane has only just been finished as a standard Pitts. The jet engines are due to be tested on the plane soon. How mad is that a jet-powered Pitts! I wonder what maneuvers he will do with this once it's completed! :))

There's more to come from the show, just a lot of editing to be done, but here's a couple of the planes on display this year.

abingdon 2019 - by steve j huggett (7).jpg
P47 Thunderbolt

abingdon 2019 - by steve j huggett (2).jpg

P51 Mustang
abingdon 2019 - by steve j huggett.jpg

What I use

Nikon D7200.
Sigma 18-300m
Software Adobe Lightroom.
Taken by Steve J Huggett.

Location

Abingdon Oxfordshire UK

Thank you

I appreciate you taking time to read this post and viewing my photos. I hope you enjoyed them. Please let me know what you think in the comments below.

Please follow me on Steemit @stevejhuggett.


Image © Steve J Huggett. All Rights Reserved.
www.www.sjhuggettimages.co.uk

Sort:  

Fantastic shots. Well worth getting up early for....:-)

Thanks @manorvillemike It was, good to see an old P47 flying again in the UK

Amazes me how a weapon of war can be so attractive.

I know what you mean, the human race is very strange! :))

Hi @stevejhuggett! Looking at your photos made me remember I've seen similar photos from you last year. I believe this is not your first, not your last air show :)
I'm glad to see these photos as I haven't been to an airshow yet, so
it's a pleasure. I admire your skills, you've managed to catch the best moment and to show us some very interesting planes you don't see every day. Excellent job!
See you next time and have a nice weekend :)

Hi @erikah Yep, your right been going to this show for the last few years. It's a nice little show to go to and get some practice in before the big shows during the summer.

Thank you for your kind words, you have a nice weekend too :)

Yay, I was right, my memory still serves me well. I'm happy to know we're going to see more gorgeous photos like this.
Keep up the good work!

Aeroplanes always fascinate me and try and get to one show every year. That is a very small jet engine and it will be interesting to see what it is capable of doing with that.The Mustang looks pretty awesome and some great photos.

Thanks @cryptoandcoffee On his other Pitts, he holds the plane in a hover, just by the power of the prop. So I wonder if he will use the Jet power for that type of stunt. Should find out by next year :)

I want to fly in that

Posted using Partiko iOS

I wouldn't say no, to a flight in any of them :)

Hi stevejhuggett,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Cheers @curie really appreciate that. Have a great day too :)

hi @stevejhuggett
beautiful photos and beautiful subjects! Are you a professional photographer or is this your hobby? and what are your favorite subjects to photograph?
congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

Thanks @road2horizon No, it's just my hobby. Favorite subjects, that's a long list lol. I'm a big petrolhead so so motorsport, planes and on the fipside, I live in a place called Wales and the landscape here is amazing. I head for the coast or mountains when the weather is good :)

Hey @stevejhuggett,
awesome photo series. I personally do not like flying shows, but I also have to say that the pilots are real masters in what they are doing. Do you often visit such events? I think you are really talented with the camera.

Cheers,
Max

Thanks @mcnestler The pilots are very skilled, the guy who flys the Pitts his display license allows him to fly from 20ft!!

Yeah, aviation is in my blood. One grandfather was a Navigator in the RAF during WWII and the other worked for "The Hawker Aircraft" company as a draughtsman, the Hawk which the Red Arrows fly today was his last project. So airshows all the time as a kid.

Go to a few events each year to get my fix lol

Uwielbiam oglądać akrobacje lotnicze ale jeszcze bardziej je fotografować. Mam też kilka zdjęć z jednej z imprez. Jeśli masz ochotę zerknąć zapraszam na podany niżej link :-)
https://steemit.com/photography/@wojtczak.photo/aerobaltic-gdynia-2018

Wooaw, even though I always see these sky flies only in movies.... Lol. But still, I always feel happy watching it and one day I know I will be seeing it live as you did.

I really enjoyed every second I spent on your blog and your clicks on the other hand are awesome. Great show end great work you did in there. Keep the sharing spirit up always

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95