Fight in the dark. March 7 and 8, 2019 - Donate with your vote

in #venezuela5 years ago

DSC_0451.jpg

Caracas, March 7, 2019

I was in the street when suddenly at 5 o'clock in the afternoon my mother called me very worried, she told me that the light had gone out in the whole city of Caracas and that she went immediately home, I live by the downtown Caracas so from where I was I had a long way to go on foot since public transport like the Caracas Metro would not provide service and the buses would be full. He had no problem walking, the problem that there was almost no natural light left and he did not have any flashlight or light source.

I was in Sabana Grande when I realized that the light was going out and that there would not be enough light to get to my house because I was not even halfway there. At that I thought of my best friend who lives in the area where I was, I could take refuge there to wait for everything to normalize, I called several times but did not have any signal, the call did not fall, I began to despair because I was alone and I would not have anywhere to take refuge if she did not appear. It was already almost dark and I saw how the sea of ​​people continued to flow in the streets, people trying to get to their houses like me, people shouted, insulted Maduro but among all that I saw also thieves taking advantage of the situation to grab to an unfortunate one to take away everything of value. By miracles the Lord managed to get a signal where I was standing and my best friend had sent me a message telling me to go home, that there was no problem, that I would be waiting and at that precise moment my phone ran out of battery, I did not have to communicate on the street.

It had been a while without communicating with my parents and they would most likely be worried but I had to get to my best friend's house. The darkness was already very close and the tension in the street was feeling more and more, I managed to get home, when we went up to the apartment it was completely dark and the only lights they had was the candles. For several hours I tried to communicate with my parents, and after a while I had succeeded, I told them that it was good that I was at Nisamar's house and in the morning I would go home. We really did not know what had happened just that the light left at about 4:30 in the afternoon and had not returned in all that time, and throughout the city.

Caracas, March 8, 2019 - 18 hours without light (11 in the morning)

The next day there were still no signs of the light, a neighbor of Nisamar knocks on the door informing that my parents were waiting for me downstairs. The despair of my parents was such that not being able to communicate with me all morning (there was still no telephone signal) they took the car and they went to look for me waiting almost half an hour until I saw them and get off.

We went home, when we arrived there was no light in the building and the cell phone batteries were running out so we turned to charge the cell phones inside the cars, curiously we had not been the only ones, most of the neighbors were in the parking lot just like us carrying cell phones. My mom was carrying some inside the car and while my dad was loading the players to listen to the radio in the truck (my dad works with a school bus).

We had to go up to the house to look for more devices that needed loading and it is worth noting that we live on a high floor that we would have to climb approximately 20 floors up the stairs, before going up we met the gentleman of the bakery, he was giving some food products like bread, cheese, juice, cookies among others because we did not know what was going to happen or when the light would return, there were several neighbors who did not have food to feed their loved ones, we bought square bread, cheese and orange juice to be able to Eat something at night. We climbed all that for the 20 floors and came back down.

We ran into several neighbors, some were obstinate, annoying and desperate, and curiously others were seeing the positive side to this, without distraction of any electronic device, that this would be a good excuse to spend quality time with family, exercise by going up the stairs, and well everything was a mixture of good as well as bad. Little by little we received more signal, we could learn that the light failures were due to a vegetation fire on Thursday afternoon that affected three lines of 765 kilovolts between Guri and the substations Malena and San Gerónimo, but unfortunately also We learned that approximately 79 deaths in hospitals had been confirmed due to the problem of light. By then, the 24 hours without light had already been completed.

We were able to sit down for lunch thanks to the fact that my parents had a stove and two gas pumps that are used to go camping, we had years until decades that were not used and luckily the pumps had half the gas left, and for the We still have moments left but we have to be careful with their use because we do not know how long this problem of light can last. My mother took advantage and mixed a lentil dish that we already had with a rice dish and with that we could have lunch.


My brother and I decided to spend time playing chess, you know, he and I had years that we did not play together, we had fun that we did not realize when it got dark. The darkness was approaching and what we had to light were the candles, we continued playing other family games until it was 10 o'clock at night, it had been about 32 hours and the light had not returned.


I managed to write all this on March 10, and today is when I could upload this post, too many things have happened in all these days, too many to leave them all in one post. The situation has been catastrophic, for me and my family it has been difficult in different aspects, but there are more families that are in worse conditions, families suffer, children and adults die with the passing of days, people ask for help, there is no light , there is no water, the situation is critical.

But before leaving ... Meanwhile think (without knowing if this can be done on the Steemit platform) I decided that the next posts that are entitled "Fight in the dark" the profits that are collected will be donated, used for buy food and drinking water, any questions, information or comments can be sent here in this post or on my Instagram by DM. With one vote you have the power to help the Venezuelan people in these times of crisis, with one vote you can give food and drink, with one vote and with my words in Steemit we will continue fighting even in the dark.

Those who read me I welcome my words and we can know more in the next post. Thank you so much!
logo aless.png
Photos of my authorship with a Nikon D3000
Instagram ǀ Facebook ǀ Twitter ǀ Patreon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94