You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Secretive meeting on US ‘military option’ in Venezuela reveals key figures of invasion push – report

in #venezuela5 years ago

It is difficult for me to imagine the state of mind that could produce the desire to subject one's friends and neighbors to the rigors of war, yet I have seen it - and worse - right here in the cozy villages where I have lived for decades. After 9/11 I was told by a local Baptist pastor that torture of suspects should be undertaken, despite that would include rape and sexually mutilating the children of suspects that would turn out to be innocent.

I believe some people get so entrained by the propaganda incessantly published they become dehumanized. I suspect this is a natural and endemic human trait, the result of interminable intraspecific violence that has ever driven people to join given groups simply because being alone was indefensible. As a non-joiner I have myself been subjected to relatively mild violence, along with other social sanctions and pressures, that I was incapable of meaningfully opposing. While it has cost me everything I owned, it has only more driven me to question even further such biological behaviours, rather than adopt them.

It now seems likely that whether by proxy or openly, the US will undertake acts of war to impel Venezuelans to deliver their nation's assets and their sovereign persons to forces supported by the USG. As I am unable to assess the situation more intimately on the ground, I cannot estimate the degree to which people there are thoroughly entrenched in nationalist civil society or in opposition groups. That Guaido exists proves the latter exist, but there seems to be little endemic Venezuelan support for his ilk.

Accordingly it seems these are the good old days across northern S. America. The caravans of people aiming at the US border have only just begun to flow. Human misery driven by inhuman machinations and selfish greed are about to increase exponentially in a region already reeling from decades of subversion.

All I can do is hope the tragedies that will enfold their people if US military options are pursued in Venezuela will continue to counsel Brazil and Columbia to not support it. Both have other fish to fry today, and mayhap those endeavors are too important to abandon during Venezuelan adventurism. Sadly, the wealth transfer that might be accomplished in such a conflict potentiates substantial inducements to leaders of both those nations.

Thanks for revealing this disturbing news. I hope nominal opposition to a new hot war can be undertaken by those motivated to do so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77