What is Wrong with the World???

in #verbalhijab6 years ago

whatswrong.jpg

The picture of the love salami is mine. I took it, without zoom.

Good Morning, afternoon, or evening Steemit folks!

I wrote some time back about starting a program named the "verbal hijab". The following is the type of thing that I'm talking about exactly.

We are home with MiniElf and loving life, trying to find what home is like now!

The day before we got to leave the hospital in the "big city" we had a class we were able to, or had to, or whatever attend. It was hosted by a nurse, who taught different things about moms health, babies health, the health systems health, etc.

This is what happened. I said I would write about it, and I will now because I don't want to write about it after I've stopped laughing. Troll me and say I'm immature, and I'll agree with you.

What talking about menstruation post-pardom the nurse said the following. "Nothing is allowed up there, not a tampon, not a diaphragm, and - I didn't even know these still existed - but you're not allowed to use douches either".

I was tired, and frankly sick of the whole racket of the hospital so I said "Oh, they do, I know a TON of douches"

There were seven couples there not including me (wife was on her way to the class). People just looked at me like I had kicked a puppy - not a pug, but like a cute puppy!

Perhaps I come from a different place or time or something... I truly thought that nurse would find that hilarious. I definitely thought the guy beside me would at least smirk. Nothing.

Am I entirely out of touch?? Jeeze, I believe that ten years ago I would have at least gained an insignificant facebox friend out of that comment.

I fear that our words, and true thoughts, regardless of intent are being covered, suppressed and denied. I fear a day that comes that is like how it is in hijab world. The ladies cover up to stay pure, so the men go out to the playgrounds where young boys are dressed up like ladies and they have their way with them for money. (if the kids family is Lucky)

I don't feel these are the same things whatsoever. But you can only hold people down so long before they start pushing back.

As always I desire your comments, thoughts, and all that. Regardless of how acceptable it is to the public.

Is there anything that can be done about this????

Sort:  

The love salami. ;)

That would have gotten an uproar of laughter down here hahaha

I think Canadian culture is notorious for not wanting to hurt feelings. But that's the understanding of a guy that lives two thousand miles closer to the equator. The sun may make us looney so we laugh at more things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59