You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Swing low, sweet M1116 (coming for to carry them home)

in #veteran6 years ago

This is beautiful, powerful and sad and uplifting at the same time. I think it was a great choice to use lighter pastel colors, not what you would typically think of for such a violent, explosive subject matter - but very appropriate for the commemoration of lives lost. The hand prints are extremely powerful. This teared me up a little, brother. Much love - Carl

Sort:  

Thanks man. Much of my war-related art is made for veterans who have lived and lost, and are now left trying to heal and come to terms with the pain, guilt, fear, and emptiness.
I see a lot of war-themed artwork that handles it by showing it just how it is, in its full-blown ugliness, hopelessness, and despair.
My feelings are that: as humans prone to selfishness, disillusionment, and strife, we will always have war with us.
But as evolved creatures with rational minds and hearts capable of love and hope, it is possible to rise above it, learn from it, heal, and change.
As an artist, I feel it is not my job to share ugliness and despair but instead hope and healing.
And knowing that my artwork has touched someone and moved them to deeper thought is a reward that you couldn't put a price on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63381.65
ETH 3169.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85