You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Proposal ... For the Military Veterans of Steemit

in #veterans6 years ago

@quillfire, your suggestions definitely resonate and I agree, in principle. I think @rakkasan84 and @guiltyparties do a fine job of onboarding and maintaining our member's list. Directly through that list, I have had the pleasure to make acquaintances with other vets, and many of whom I would not have ever met IRL.

On the tag, yes we should choose one - if possible, and begin to tag all our posts to it. I also belong to The Writers' Block and we do ask posters to remove the tags if the post is not relevant to the tag or community. It definitely takes time and effor to police. We've had mixed results with it and had to downvote a few to make our point.

Having a community comes with a mix bag of personalities and involves a social graphic ladder that has the following (in order, bottom rung up):

  • Inactives [we either move these folks to spectators or trim - or find out why they are inactive]
  • Spectators [most valuable, should target to move up to Joiners]
  • Joiners [keep engaged and look for future collectors, critics, creators]
  • Collectors
  • Critics
  • Creators

It also comes along with what makes up the "sense of community." This goes towards what we are trying to build and sustain.

  • membership,
  • influence,
  • integration and fulfillment of needs,
  • shared emotional connection.
    *** - rewards (crypto)

Members move along the ladder, depending on their interest. In my case, I'm involved in several communities (maybe too many) and slide up and down the 3 C's rungs (there's your threes again) in each of the communities, depending on what's going on in my life (I think this goes for everyone.)

I think that Steem is an interesting social-graphic ecosystem that I'm still trying to figure out how it plays with the social graph. That's why I have the last starred, "rewards."

Not sure if any of my comments help, I do think your comments and suggestions are inline with building community and establishing someguidleines that allow for the movement of members along the ladder. Definitely something that should be discussed further as the vet community grows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62584.99
ETH 3171.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81