"Road March" March Veteran's Photo Contest - 10 SBD in Prizes!

in #veterans6 years ago

full.jpg
(Photo by @rakkasan84)

We have hosted 2 story contests so far here on Steemit. @sgt-dan won our Christmas Story contest and @basicstoliving won our Valentine's themed story contest. This month, I decided to try a photo contest to see if we can get more participation.

This month our contest will be "Road March" themed. Share a photo from when you in service in "full battle rattle" about to go on a road march or out on patrol. You can blur out your face or any identifying marks on your uniform if you wish. Just write a brief paragraph about where you were and what you were carrying.

Rules

  • Must be a verified veteran or service member (see @chairborne's followed list)
  • Upvote and resteem this post
  • Post your photo here in the comments below
  • Write a brief paragraph about where you were and what you were carrying.

The person with the most total upvotes on their comment here will win. First place wins 5 SBD, second place wins 3 SBD, and third place wins 2 SBD. The contest ends in 7 days when this post is paid out. If you have any questions, please contact @rakkasan84 on discord.

vet tag.png

Sort:  

Vietnam 1970 a road march from Phu cat to Cam Ranh Bay. I'm shown here on the business end of a 175mm gun which at 21.5 miles had the farthest shooting range of any weapon in-country at the time. The projectiles were 147 pounds and the powder charge was 57 inches long. The barrel was 34 feet long.
On the Tube 1970.jpg

That's a really nice pic, thanks for your entry!

Thanks! You can't really see how handsome I am (or was) : )

Thank you, sir, for the SBD! It is deeply appreciated!

I waited too long to submit this, but I'll submit it under the wire anyway!
DSC02846.jpg
Yeah, I know I'm not wearing ten thousand pounds of gear, but what is a Sailor on deployment to do? Dress down! Haha! Since I had no "going out on patrol" experience, the best I can do is post this pic that was taken during a replenishment at sea (RAS) evolution. If you were in supply (which I was), you were BUSY on those days. This was during my second deployment, when I was the Postal Officer, and we were deployed over the entire holiday season, so therefore I spent pretty much the entire day, every RAS day, in the hangar bay sweating right alongside my Sailors and looking like this (or worse). What I was carrying was a knife and a large permanent marker! We had quite the distribution system involving flying boxes and much shouting. I made a note on this particular photo folder that this day was a "recordbreaking" mail call at 120 triwalls of mail. Here's some of it:
DSC02854.jpg
I solemnly promise that I keep trying to upvote this post, and it's not working :(

Thank you @shadow3scalpel for the SBD! So exciting!! :)

full.jpg
This is me right before mission briefing about to head outside on a mission to fix IED craters. Picture was taken in Iraq in 2007 on LSA Anaconda, I was the driver of this truck and the bobcat all deployment long(though couple different trucks due to IEDs). I'm carrying my trusty M16A2 5.56, full combat load, As well a lock of one of my wife's curls in my left breast pocket where it stayed on every mission for 15 months!

Nice pic, thanks for your entry.

Hey now, what about Sailors?! I'll have to see if I can get creative with my pics :)

Dang I didn't really think about that, lol. I guess it would be the camo or flight suit for you guys. Must be nice not carrying all that gear!

haha I remember Navy in Iraq having mandatory full battle rattle days on post soI have seen what I assume are still considered sailors though not on a ship. LOL only big on the army hahaha so excuse the lack of correct term while boots on ground lol

I had a bunch of pictures from Iraq but my hard drive failed and now they are gone. A causalty of war. LOL

good contest good luck follow now

Very interesting contest. Good idea for sure. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50