7 Days of Daily YouTube Videos and still going strong! Here are my thoughts...

in #video6 years ago

Last Weekend I decided to start Daily Vlogging

Well it is extremely difficult, but not as bad as I expected it to be. I've done a lot of research on YouTube and video creation in general, and there are essentially two parts to being a successful YouTuber.

The first is creating great videos. This part is probably the more difficult part. I am currently shooting my videos on an iPhone and editing in iMovie on a very slow MacBook air. I use keynote for the green screen effects and overlays to make things look nice although I have quickly outgrown the software. There are so many limitations when it comes to iMovie and in order to create really amazing looking content I need to upgrade to Final Cut or to Adobe Premier Pro. As far as the camera goes, I think that the iPhone is good for now as it has a really amazing camera, although I would like to upgrade eventually as a better camera would look a little clearer, work better in low light, and pick up audio better. Coming up with a good story to tell is not a problem for me. It's getting it onto film that's the challenge. I am now in the process of making an overhead rig to shoot on my iPhone so that I can do a draw my life, and creative scenes with overhead shots.

The second challenge is promoting videos and building a subscriber base and following. As is evident here on steemit, the number of followers or subscribers doesn't mean too much. It's more about the activity on each video and the user engagement that matters. I'm currently on the fence about whether or not I can put out videos successfully on DTube. I put my first vlog out to see how it would do and it had some issues with playback. Anyways, building a following isn't as challenging. You first have to find a small niche, start there and then grow. My niche is college videos. I put out videos alternating between daily vlogs and college themed advice videos. I have a day in the life of a Rutgers student, NYC trip vlogs, and a video on why I chose the college I go to.

If you're interested, check out my channel here as this is my latest project. I hope to promote steemit at some point when I finally get a big enough following.

and here's the link to the channel...
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCm21z3Et9skGEdFa8sAqSUA/featured?view_as=subscriber

I'm looking for feedback so let me know what you think. If the videos need work, tell me how to improve them.

Thanks
--Aaron

Sort:  

Congratulations @aaronburt! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aaronburt! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61