You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moviemaking Concepts: Production - Cinematography

in #video5 years ago

I totally agree with you, in the standardized method of cinematographic production, the image is thanks to the director of photography. Unless it is an auteur film, where in some cases the director acts as a director of photography and is also committed to other aspects of the realization.

I'm not a great director but I know the subject, I come from the theatrical world where, as you mention, the same thing is done as in cinema, in fact I would see cinema in this case as an art child of theatre because all the aspects in which cinema is based come from theatre, adding the camera that takes 24 photos per minute or as we know best the modern cameras, whether film or digital.

going back to the point of realization, in my case in particular in the small productions I have done, I have been very chaplin, I direct myself, I am the director of photography, editing everything. Of course this is a very personal vision and that only applies to short films, in a larger production, no doubt need more people.

Thank you for appreciating this important information related to cinema, I like the didactic way in which you teach.

greetings, peace and love

Sort:  

Thanks for the wonderful comment @arrozymangophoto! Yes I agree completely that theater and film go hand in hand - the only difference is the "live" aspect of it. Many times a play doesn't work word for word on film because it requires a live energy that you can really only get when you're "in the room", whereas in film you have to go a bit further to craft that energy within the shot. ...and you can, because you're not in a fixed space, necessarily. But in either case, it's about story and performance, and it's a matter of using the medium that shows it in the most effective way possible.

Keep creating!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80