You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homelessness Documentary Promo Video and Fundraiser LIVE!

in #video5 years ago

I have been captivated by this publication, which surely for the corporate media in your country is not news.

i am from venezuela a country that is heavily attacked by the international media as a country with a dictatorial regime. i do not intend to go into details of what is wrong with this country but i can tell you that despite the economic crisis we are going through we have a solid government system of housing construction for disadvantaged sectors. the project is called great mission housing venezuela and has been in seven years, the government of venezuela has built two million homes as part of the social protection system of the people. here i leave you this link https://www.telesurtv.net/news/Venezuela-es-el-pais-que-mas-construye-viviendas-en-el-mundo-20171229-0003.html

for you to see one of the realities that despite all the bad things in government, this point in favor of one of the fundamental rights of every human being, housing, is seriously hidden.

Thank you for sharing this noble cause, I hope you succeed in solving this problem.

greetings peace and freedom

Sort:  

Nice to hear, Im glad homelessness is not a big problem in Venezuela, I guess all systems have their pro's and con's, actually the right to a home is a human right, according to the "Universal Declaration of Human Rights" I wrote this article about it: Not providing housing for the homeless is a human rights violation...

/FF

I think the problem is with the principles of the laws that are based on social democracy, and these clash with the dogma for example of liberalism... in his doctrine he prays to keep private property safe and what they most like to keep the freedoms of individuals intact and inviolable. which undoubtedly brings as a consequence that a state like USA that has two representative models in power, one republican and the other liberal .. attempt against their constitutional principles, on the one hand are under oath but on the other hand only care about trade and individuality, forgetting that they are a collective and when someone in the collective is wrong to help him, I continue to insist your mission is very noble brother. I wish I could help in activism to improve that situation.

Yeah, I understand it's all very complicated, I consider myself fairly liberal I don't like taxes and government control any more then most people.

But I believe most civilized countries could easily solve the problem of homelessness or at least provide tiny-houses or trailers with communal bathrooms and such, and probably by doing so creating some new jobs and save tax-money on the costs of prisons and law enforcement/police, who often end up "dealing" with the homeless people anyway sooner or later.

I also wish I could do more and be more active, and I think that supporting people who are involved in the "Tiny House Movement" is a very good thing to do even if you can't get directly involved yourself.

Cheers and thanks for the reply @arrozymangophoto!

Gracias, @arrozymangophoto! You are correct. I have not heard much positive news about Venezuela. So I appreciate you sharing that project in your country. It reminds me of Cuba, which is poorer than the U.S., but I didn't see any homeless people in Havana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63672.48
ETH 3319.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91