📺 Created Here - Sneak Peek of a New TV Show [Video Preview]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #video6 years ago

Many of you know I'm a filmmaker, but most of you haven't seen much of my video work yet. Happy to say I have something exciting to share with you. This month, we filmed three episodes of a trailblazing television show called Created Here.

This new series shares the stories of thriving artists in various places, beginning with the city where I live: Austin, Texas. The producers hired my company to lead the videography and video editing for three pilot episodes: Rock Photographers, Muralists, and Music Makers. Each of these episodes captures fresh perspectives on the local arts scene in Austin, famous as "The Live Music Capital of the World."

The Sneak Peek

The introduction to the "Music Makers" episode, shown here, includes some of my favorite live music performances from ACL and SXSW music festivals.


The Austin Episodes

The first three episodes of the Created Here show highlights the ins and outs of the Austin arts scene. You'll discover secrets to success as an Austin artist. You'll learn how artists transition from amateurs to professionals, and you'll find resources for establishing a career in as a creative professional.

Samantha Katz is the show's hostess, here standing by the famous Austin postcard mural.

Created Here introduces outstanding Austin artists and art enthusiasts alike, including several of the city's newly-recognized "Best of Austin," according to The Austin Chronicle's 2017 Best of Austin reader's poll.


Austin's "Best Muralist" is Mike "Truth" Johnston, the city's most prolific street artist.


Our show introduces a fabulous world-touring rock photographer: Pooney Ghana.


You'll know the inspiration behind the Austin Music Awards' "Best Avant-Garde/Experimental Band," Golden Dawn Arkestra.


Dan Redman is founder and CEO of Mosaic Sound Collective, which is Austin's "Best Available Office Space for Musicians on a Budget."

Additionally, the show introduces a Honky Tonk music star, a retired rock star turned photo connoisseur, and a powerhouse behind the South by Southwest festival. Stacey Wilhelm is the music festival programmer at SXSW. Amanda Cevallos is Latin music's emerging pop star. Sophie Roach is a prominent illustrator, painter, and muralist. And Steven Walker is the owner of the Modern Rocks Gallery.*


The Next Phase

Right now, the show's producers are working on the distribution process. We'll stand by, and wait for further instructions. In the meantime, I'll plan to post more on this subject, because there's so much more to share! There's the story of the Austin band whose music is featured in the video above, called Brothers Vinyl – they're famous for recording 365 songs in one year (one-a-day)! There's also the secrets we learned about Willie Nelson, and the "Cumbia" dance music genre popular throughout Latin America. Fun!

Let me know what you're interested in knowing more about, and I'll be happy to share.

Wishing you a rockin' awesome day!

@cabelindsay

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing a glimpse into what you create. The short clip was such a tease. I can't wait to see and hear more about this project.

Awesome! Yay, I'm glad to hear you're interested, because there's a lot of great material to share, in addition to the shows themselves. Such a blast working on this project.

will circle back around and take a look but for now have 100% upvote and resteem and i'll watch when i get through this chaos of pre christmas presents ordering and finishing up today with the client - on it's 29 seconds. ok. this is good! :)

Rock on, thank you for upvoting, resteeming, and complimenting. Means so much to get a positive response from a fellow videographer. Man, this project is so full of fun. Can't wait for the shows to circulate. Feeling like the start of a big wave for our little studio. Thanks again. 🏄

well depending on steemfest 3 location we might end up working together if you need an asset to camera to work with or just generally make media together, i miss austin tbh. a lot.

So cool, yes, let's collaborate! Someone did mention that Austin is a potential location for Steemfest 3. Wherever it's at, I'll make an effort to be there with hugs and high-fives for you, brother.

result. yes man, happy about that. definately wanna collab in 2018 and yeah, i don't know if you know but the steemit hq is in austin ;) they moved. so i'm thinkin maybe this year. .. . not sure.. . but steemfest 3 in austin would be fire.

Very cool! Thanks for sharing about your industry @cabelindsay! I miss the days of when I was living in Austin! The music scene there is so vibrant.

Yeah, it really is a kickass music scene here. And I'm surprised to see that there are some other areas of the arts scene taking off too. Street art. Aerial silk dancing. Acro yoga... You and your sister fit right in here, I'm sure.

Hehe yeah we both went to school there actually!! Tons of fun :) I heard there’s a big acro group there! I also love the other aerial arts

Looks awesome! I would watch for sure... I'm curious about these Willie Nelson / Cumbia secrets... :)

Yay, you're in luck. Both the Willie Nelson story and the Cumbia dance demo come from Amanda Cevallos. She's a Honkey Tonk singer, and she's had the good fortune of bumping into Willie Nelson a few times, so I'll share her stories here soon. And she learned Cumbia straight from Selena - she used to see her in concert every week!

Nice work!! I like the vibe!! congrats!! :)

Thanks! Feels really good to me. It was the perfect "YES!" project - the kind where we get the invitation and then we jump for it.

Cant wait to see more of this project as it unfolds and as you care to share it. Super well done, i can't say i'm surprised coming from a talented dude like you- but still excited none the less- congratulations!

Woohoo! Thanks so much for encouraging me. Feels so good to have a big project like this out there, getting views from the network execs. Looking forward to sharing more of the gems we recorded with this project here on Steemit.

Hard work does indeed pay off- much deserved and keep up the awesome creative mojo

Awesome i cant wait to see more of this!

Sweet, thanks! I'm excited to share more, and hopefully I'll have some big news of the show's airing date. And in the meantime, I'll continue to record and share the stories of artists and their art - it's a labor of love.

What! You're a Missoula person! We have mutual friends! I just saw you resteemed by people i like on here that i dont know IRL... this is the first missoula related person i have bumped into on Steemit. I just joined and I love it so much already . Nice to "see" you! Totally following! Do you know anyone else from here thats on Steemit?

Oh yay! Yep, I lived in Missoula for about 5 years. You look familiar to me, especially after I looked up your blog and found your zine post, and I'm certain we swim in the same circles. I moved to Austin about 10 years ago, or so. I haven't recruited my Missoula friends to Steemit yet, but I intend to. Lots of creatives there, as you know.

I am getting ready to do just that. I was waiting until I understand it better so I can teach people and create a support community for us. I want to host like a meetup/training for them so if you know anyone (in Missoula) who wants a person to show them in real life about it, please let me know i would be glad to help. I think you must know @fictionclemens ? I just raved about it to him last Sunday and he joined.

Awesome. The world could use more shows like this, showcasing the great artists of our time

Thanks! Yeah, I'm feeling we're right on the verge of a Creative Age, where we survive and thrive by our creativity. And so naturally, shows like this will keep on popping up. We're ready to create the world we wish to live in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68