You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homelessness Documentary Promo Video and Fundraiser LIVE!

in #video5 years ago

This is a great promo video of your amazing project. It is important that somebody tackles the issue. I'm based in Switzerland but I've seen already some documentaries about homelessness in the US here, so it must be very bad if they show it to people in Europe. The one that I've seen last was about the Las Vegas and people living in some sort of canalization tunnels. This sounds so horrible and humiliating.

I am sorry to hear that this is an issue in the whole US. Oh, poor people living in those tents when the winter is coming. I must say I feel sorry for them and I hope that there will be some shelters built for them where they can warm up and get some good meals.

It's alarming to hear how many people actually can't affect their situation. They lost everything and they can't get up on their feet without help of others. We have also these issues in Switzerland and I'm supporting an organization helping homeless people here.

I wish you all the luck with the fundraising. I hope you will get as much help as you need so that you can spread the awareness and hopefully help to resolve this issue.

Thank you for sharing! Take care!

Sort:  

Thank you, @delishtreats! The U.S. has always had an issue with people "falling through the cracks." Many feel like they don't belong in a country so fragmented. So they drift and find themselves belonging with other drifters. This particular camp in Minneapolis is almost all Native Americans, but homelessness affects people of all races. Addiction is a big part of it, and then many I speak to don't want to go to treatment. So they live on the streets. Minnesota, where I lives, actually has generous welfare benefits (by American standards, anyway). So the issue seems to be helping the homeless get up and take advantage of them. We'll see if I can show this in my documentary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62449.43
ETH 3190.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81