BIG CRASH AT THE END OF THE CRAZIEST RUN I'VE EVER DONE! Well, so far... Part 3 of Traveling With My Longboard

in #video6 years ago

Enough Trees Already!

So if you were following along, you'd see I did a lot of hiking, evidence being all the tree pictures in the last two parts. I did get around to doing a good amount of skating while in Vancouver, and even got to attend a couple regular events. It was really a nice way to work out any rustiness in my skating I had from the long winter, plus I know a lot of people in BC through longboarding.

The longboarding community in BC is very much the heart of longboarding in Canada, and it's full people who a dedicated to growing the scene, putting on events, and generally keeping the sport alive and well. I was lucky enough to be there for 2 staple events, Tuesday Techslides, and Thursday Night Parkades. Both events had decent turn outs, bigger than most of my events, and pretty much everyone knew each other. Everyone knows these agreed upon rules / code to go by, keeping them responsible as riders, while at the same time doing crazy things like forcing anyone who spills their beer, to drink their next beer out of their shoe. I promise you I have footage of this, but that will be a later post, as I have much to do, and very little time recently.

After all that fun, I hitched a ride with a fellow longboarder, down to Washington state, for an event called Maryhill Spring Free 4 All. This event takes place on the historic Maryhill Loops Road, which was the first asphalt road in the US, and used horse shoe turns to lessen the grade of the road on the hill it was on. This makes it one of the most unique roads to ride a longboard on, as you always are going down hill, but the corners are just perfect enough that you don't need to slow down for them, assuming you take a good line.

31689237_10155394306046027_1256422146196897792_n.png

While at the Maryhill event, I was asked by my friend Troy Yardwaste to be part of a pack run with him, wearing Cariboo brewing onesies, for a video he was shooting for them. Now normally I don't ride in tight pack runs because I've still very new to riding with others, since I only get to do it at places like Maryhill. But this was a special case, there was no backing down, and I knew I had to give it my best. As we dropped in a large number of others jumped in on the run, obviously wanting to get in some of the shots. You can hear me say "Oh shit." when this happens cause it scared the crap out of me, but in the end it's what made this run the best. Mind you it was the only once run we did, cause we knew we got it when we got to the bottom.

Finally, the video I mentioned earlier

Here is the video from my helmet camera. The video he shot has not yet come out as far as I know. I'm sure they will say it's ok for me to post it here when it does come out.

The crash near the end was caused by the tail of the cow onesie getting caught in the guys back wheel. They were both sore, but ok in the end.

Part 2

Part 1

Join Us
Our Discord Chat Group
And Facebook Page

Sort:  

Congratulations @howweroll! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94