How to: Film dinosaurs and get the best shot!

in #video6 years ago

IMG_4616.PNG

Yes, that might mean the extremely dangerous process of "car surfing"... but I couldn't help it! We rounded a corner and the skyline opened up into a beautiful vista of Texas valleys and crags.

"Stop the vehicle! I gotta get this!" I said to Jon who was driving.

IMG_4575.JPG

We where on our way back home after production work on the film "Indiana Levi" which is about Dinosaurs...

IMG_4433.JPG

The theme music to Jurassic park is playing in my mind. You know the song... when they first see the Behemoths and everyone tears up a little.

I wanted to share some tips about filming for anyone interested in also chasing down towering dinosaurs for their movie.

  1. Don't be afraid to look like a weirdo when getting your shot. That means climbing onto vehicles, squating in public, and rolling on the ground like a walrus. It might be embarrassing but your angles and the footage you capture will take your production to the next level.

  2. Exercise your back muscles and be ready to stand around holding equipment steady and mics aloft. When first using a Gimbal like the Ronan M to film your movie... having an incredibly resilient lower back is extremely important. Otherwise you may need some kind of harness. But we aren't pansies..

IMG_4495.JPG

3)Bring lots of batteries, charging cords and extra memory cards. There is nothing worse than being thousands of miles from the office without the ability to film.

IMG_4531.JPG

That there is Joe Taylor, a cool dude that runs the Mt. Blanco fossil museum. Joe was Mid-story about how there have been sightings of live Pterodactyls, and my mic battery starts blinking. I call Jon up and we where able to get the things changed out, but it's never fun to ruin the flow when a good story is being told!

4)Try local snacks, and be mobile in your food consumption.

IMG_4530.JPG

It takes a lot of precious time you could be working on the production when you have to stop and eat at restaurants. The inside of every chain restaurant looks the same and you can get those shots back home!

5)Stop and visit friends! What better excuse to stop in than "I'm making a movie" and want to say hi! They might have some interesting insight about the location and local community!

IMG_4462.JPG

Hanging out with our bro Rob Skiba in Dallas. He was kind enough to let me host an interview in his office. Along with his notorious nephilim skull in the background.

IMG_4471.JPG

We also got to visit some fellow Steemians in Arkansas!

IMG_4588.JPG

Thanks for reading!
Jake

Sort:  

An if it where not for @beardo and @dwells I would not have started blogging again! Thanks for the motivation brosephs!

Excellent post...made me laugh too!! Oh and hey can you tell Steve the next time you talk to him that his daily devotions have made their way to Steemit? I post at least a couple of them a week! I know how much they mean to him, so I have been getting them on here for as many people to see as possible!

I think @dwell mentioned to him that very night regarding his devotionals on Steemit! He was most likely speaking of you. I really like Steve's Scriptures for life.

I asked @dwells if he could do that but I never heard back, which is fine! Just wanted to make sure Steve knew about it. I plan to keep doing it.....I suppose I would stop if Steve talked to me and asked me to but I am guessing that he was ok with his devotions finding another avenue to be spread! Thanks for letting me know!

Sorry Matt, I forgot to let you know bro. Steve's face lit up and was very excited about you sharing his daily devotionals.

Hey don't worry about it, I'm just glad to know that you were able to tell him and that we was "ok" with me doing it! I look forward to keep sharing them, I don't share them all but I will continue to try to share at least a couple a week!

Any way to get the word out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61081.38
ETH 2930.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70