You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homelessness Documentary Promo Video and Fundraiser LIVE!

in #video5 years ago

Hey Brandon! It's awesome to see someone taking this issue and trying to find out WHY it happens. I think that's gotta be the best way at preventing it from continuing on into the future.

Honestly I'm shocked it's such a big thing in the Minneapolis area. I've been in Minneapolis many times during the winter and its FREEZING cold. Not to say that people can't lose their home anywhere in the world. I'm more curious how they're able to survive in a tent city. It sounds pretty horrible.

I wish you luck in your fundraising and in your film. I hope it's able to bring about more awareness on this subject and come up with some viable solutions. I also like that you're not taking it to a political place. I think it's better not to alienate half of your potential audience. It affects everyone!

Sort:  

Hear, hear, jocqua! And thank for your interest.

This is a unique occurrence in Minneapolis. Yes, it does get cold (is cold now). Plus, the city hasn't, til now, taken such a lenient approach to tent cities. But the city is leaning toward the model of "harm reduction," as we see West Coast cities. So they allowed this tent city to stay, promised housing all in the city, and it ballooned to what we see today. There's never been anything like it here. Its size, and the tightness of the Native American community--who mostly inhabit this camp--are keeping it going strong despite the cold.

As far as why homelessness is growing across the U.S.? I'm still working on that one...

Crazy man. Can't even imagine what that would be like, to have to live in a tent city like that. Such a bummer. And with that cold. Unreal.

Well I wish you luck in your journey!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91