You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Differences Between the United States and Guadalajara (Our First Impressions)

in #video6 years ago

Hahahaha this part got me; half and quarter mexican? What's the gist about that? Maddie has someone from Mexico?
Seriously, it's impressing the way you took it up to learn Spanish. Yes, they really couldn't tell, if you are Mexican or not, so they try to speak to you as one of theirs. They should go easy on you with the speaking fast. Haha.

Sort:  

My mom's mother (my grandma) is 100% Mexican. Her husband (my grandpa) wasn't Mexican, so my mom is 50%. My dad is...who know's what lol he's never known his full heritage... so that means I have at least 25% Mexican blood in me.

It's kinda nice not feeling like such an outsider among everyone in town. Here, we look like half the population, which we definitely did not expect! Thankfully, most people do speak slower once they see our deer-in-the-headlights looks and we ask them to. ;)

-Maddie

Thankfully, most people do speak slower once they see our deer-in-the-headlights looks and we ask them to. ;)

Hahahaha. I saw your expression in the video when you tried to explain that. Haha.

Wow...25% at least. That's cool. It's like being home or tracing your roots. Cool. Where did your grand mother lived in Mexico? You might also love to explore that place, if you haven't been there already. So, your l kids would be mixed too; U.S + Mexico, well, let's assume you didn't give birth to them in another country. Hahaha.

Lol that's how I'm always feeling on the inside. Not sure if I make the face in real life, but probably.

Yeah! It definitely feels like I'm getting back to my roots. According to my Nana, we have family from Los Mochis and Oaxaca (still need to clarify if that's the city or state). Good luck to my potential children explaining how they're 12.5% but also full-born Mexican if they're birthed here. Lol

Hahahahahahaha. You might have to skip that part for them, else the explanation would confuse them, and they might make the funny face you made, which i like. Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83