Derrick Jensen: Endgame lecture (around 2 hours long)

in #video6 years ago

Usually I'm not much for sharing videos of lectures, unless I find them really interesting, but I came across this today kind of randomly (the paths reddit's comments take you through sometimes XD) , and I think it's amazing, if only to generate debate and give food for thought. Additionally I think it's he's pretty funny, so that helps make the two hours of lecture feel a lot lighter.

If you're just looking for the video scroll down :) . If you want to read my opinion and a brief "what's this about", keep reading.

So, first off, I feel like the lecture is a must see if you're worried even a bit about the future of our planet, of our species and of our society. Is also pretty interesting to watch if you've never thought about this and have time to kill. It may shake your view of the world and make you think, and that's very healthy now and then, in my opinion. I'm not sure I agree with everything he says, and I think a lot of the points can of course be argued, refined and even rebated, but that's besides the point. As I said, I think it's a really interesting lecture to view not because you should listen to it and believe and follow everything he's saying, but because it will inevitably lead to you questioning things and, if you watch it with friends or send it to them, having some pretty interesting conversations about it.

That said, what is it about? Well, I have a really hard time explaining that exactly, to be honest. But just so you can consider if you want to spend time on it without having to go in blindly, expect to hear about how our "culture" and our concept of civilization leads is fundamentally unsustainable, why as long as we just "live as we have always done" the world (and of course, everyone on it) is pretty much doomed. I think most people with internet and the capacity for critical thinking already knows that the system we live in has some pretty big flaws, and this lecture skillfully points them out, painting a bleak landscape while making the experience entertaining and even getting a laugh out of you at some points (I don't promise laughs ^^" , but I did laugh at some points).

And now, I shut up a let you watch the lecture:

Part 1


Part 2

I'm not the one that uploaded the video to youtube, just sharing the links. And sorry if they're a repost, I did a search and couldn't find them.

Sorry if the tags are "wrong", I had a hard time deciding which ones to put. I can explain why I decided on those if it's not obvious ^^". If you feel like one is really wrong or misleading or whatever let me know and I'll consider editing to remove it.

Also, I think it's obvious by the very nature of the lecture, but any comments, both giving arguments for or against any of the points, or just expanding on some of them, will be very welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64