Here's What Happens When A Musician And A Surfergirl Meet On Steemit.com And Decide To Cooperate 🎧 [Community Project]

in #video7 years ago

'Music has the power to bring people together like no other art form.' - Michael Franti

I couldn't agree more, Michael.

It was music, steemit and a little bit of magic that led to the following lucky break.

So here we are: Proving that decentralized social media is able to overcome any geographical and time borders, unite like-minded people from all over the world and surpass any existing creative limits.

Is this your voice?

Two months ago it so happened that I accidentally ran into Drew Machak's steemit blog.

Drew is an extraordinarily talented singer and songwriter from Detroit (Michigan, US). He would humbly say "your friendly local musician" 😊

Lucky me, Drew left a comment in my blog and like that I found his.

So I stumbled over a post with his music video "See you again", which I literally commented as follows:

"OMG! Is this your voice?!? Wow! I'm sitting kind of paralized in front of my computer."

Haha! This was one of these comments that directly and uncensored found their way from my heart to the keypad.

Two months later (today!) I'm honored and proud to launch my very first video music cooperation with Drew Machak (@drewsmusic) here on steemit! Waaaam! 🙌

As mentioned I was fallen for Drew's songs from the very first instance.

So one day I screwed up all my courage and asked him if he was interested in cooperating: meaning me editing a new surf video accompanied by Drew's music.

He agreed and here we are!

Two like-minded people that share a certain passion for "the easy life", two social media friends who met on steemit and bundled their creativity in order to entertain their audience.

"Drops of Summer": A video music cooperation featuring Drew Machak's "Upnorth" [4 min video - play it loud 🎧]

On YouTube the video has generated already more than 1,200 views in only 2 days. Let's see if steemit will boost the counter even more :)

Oh I would love to know how you felt watching the video!

This project somehow became "my baby" during the past weeks.

To be honest, the fact that Drew provided me with such professional music put a certain pressure on me to deliver something really good. I definitely wanted to produce the best video ever.

I knew that I wouldn't press the "publish" button until having a version that completely convinced me.

Mother Earth was kind of complicating my plans in the beginning. After finishing the storyboard I had to wait almost two weeks until having ideal weather conditions for the shooting. African winds (absolutely not typical for the season) were filling the air with sand and the sky was cloudy and white and not blue (as I wanted it to be for the video).

It was this "Murphy's Law thing". These foggy lay days felt being endless.

Drew had already passed me an amazing selection of songs but I needed to patiently wait for the perfect moment (the sun coming out again).

Then finally the day had come.

Now it feels great and unreal at the same time that the video is live and shared on steemit.

Thank you, Drew!

Thanks infinitely! Since two months I can't stop listening to your music. The fact that one of your songs has now become part of my video is a huge pleasure and incredible honor. You're just the best!!!

Steemians, please follow and support Drew! I guarantee you'll love his sound, authenticity, humor, kindness and positivity :)

https://steemit.com/@drewsmusic (formerly allocated here: @drewmachakmusic, so please follow the new account!)
https://www.facebook.com/drewmachak
https://www.instagram.com/drewmachak
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCix-fGAiJZZJSdmmPPvoqnA 

The moral of the story: get in touch with other steemians and bundle your knowledge and creativity. Together we can build something really outstanding ✌️

By chance, one year ago today I signed up for steemit! Time stamp: 2016-07-24 13:50:54 UTC (did I hit it?).

What a ride! And what a great way of celebrating it 😍

Here's my one year old introduction post, so funny to read it again from today's point of view.

It's been a wonderful and wild time, I'm grateful for every single day and have definitely learned for life. These 12 months feel like years. I've met incredible people from all over the world, and some of them have even become friends.

Thank you, steemians!

I'm excitedly looking forward to whatever this place has prepared for us.

THE BEST IS YET TO COME.

Marly - 

PS: A big THANK YOU to all the people that have contacted me during the past weeks and that have constantly encouraged me to keep posting on this platform. You are awesome and the very reason why I'm here today!!!

Two wonderful steemy souls made an especially good job and proved that they not only have a big heart but also stand in for you when things get complicated. Thank you @uwelang and @hastla! You were there when I needed you most, and I won't ever forget that in my life. Love you much!!! ❤

Original content: Photography and video done by myself | Images taken with a GoPro Hero 5 | Footage edited with GoPro Studio. Quotes found on pinterest (1) and pinterest (2).

Sort:  

Finally!! We have missed you much!!

Thanks Phillie! I've missed this, too!!! 1 year... do you remember how it started?
Feels incredibly good to be back posting :)

Yes. I remember being nervous about telling you....and then nobody upvoting you..... and you never giving up and look where you are today.....

Hehe, yeah patience and consistency is the key :)

I love the 'just do it' mentality! Who can say about himself that he has created his/her own surfer/music video. It is so easy to get caught by 'should do's'! Keep it going.

Thanks my friend!!! Actually I still hadn't thought about it in this way. But you're right: we just did it.
Feels good to be back posting - that was also one of these "let's make it" decisions :-)
Big hugs

Very nice video and lovely song.
Full 100% and resteemed :-)

Thank you so much, guys!!! I missed that purple icon on the left :-))
Good to be around again.

Wow, amazing collaboration! And awesome surfing! Full upvote

Thank you so much!! I'm happy you enjoyed it in such way.
Have found your blog, too, now :-)

I like toast 🍞

That video was awesome, i had to make sure if it was really @sufermarly that posted :)

Haha, it's meeee :-) Thank you very much, I'm happy you enjoyed it!
See you around ✌️

Hi! This is just awesome! Can you follow me @evyarts? I would love to learn more from you; new in this neighborhood ;) Good luck!

Thanks for the nice compliment and welcome to steemit!
I like your photography 😉👍 Have just upvoted and resteemed your introduction post, so I hope some more people will recognize you talent and nice content. Following you now for future posts 🙂

Just got home from California! First order of business... RESTEEM :D Can't wait for the next video!!

Hey! Welcome back, singing traveler :-) Seems that we did the right thing, huh? Can't wait to publish the next one either, will be shooting on the neighbour islands the next weekend, hoping to get some reeeeally nice footagggge :-) Big hug

This is the day that will be remembered as when Marly came back. I am so glad to have you here again.

It is a powerful video and the song is amazing!! Undoubtedly you are coming back in the best shape ever! That quote... of course! Every beginning holds magic and thrill, I wish you the best of luck with this new project, never let go of that magic, every day is a new beginning, right?

Correct! Every day is the chance to write a new page of that book called life. Every day is a new opportunity to do something amazing, and to be a good person.

I'm not sure if this day will be remembered, but I really hope that the music will be memorized forever :)

It feels great to be here again, reading all these lovely comments!!!
The best is yet to come...

You got a great attitude, lady. Very appreciative of people and opportunities. Very inspiring.

Thank you, what a nice compliment!!!
I always try to be positive. We rise by lifting others, don't we? :)

Yes, I think that's right. Where are you catching waves at these days?

Currently I'm not catching anything :-( Winds are too strong on Canary Islands (my home), and I'm waiting for better conditions since a couple of days. Hopefully next week the situation will be any better. I'd love to shoot new material for the next video :-)

Hmmmm, Canary Islands -- what an incredible little oasis you've found.

Welcome back Marly! You were missed.

Awesome video :)

Thank you very much, Adil!
Feels still like home..:)

Glad you are finally back - we missed you endlessly - shared and resteemed

Thanks my bestie!!! I've missed it, too!
Jetzt rocken wir wieder zusammen :)

Gern geschehen Bestie - ob ich mitrocke steht in den Sternen noch :-) Aber Du bist wertvoll für diese Platform - mach weiter so.

Danke Liebster! Ich hoffe Du machst mit 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66382.93
ETH 3031.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69