Dirty Fingers free beer Sundays!

in #vietnam17 days ago

Dirty Fingers is the name of a bar and restaurant so don't think I am talking about anything gross here. At first I thought it was a terrible name for a place but they call it that because their main food items are smoked ribs and other BBQ. Their burgers are also very saucy so you will indeed end up with sauce all over you if you are not careful.

One thing that has really turned me on to this place is that they have this program where on Sundays between 4-5 PM you get all the beer you can drink for free if you buy a Dirty Fingers T-shirt and wear it. There is no limitation on how long you can use this shirt for free beer and there are people that have been going here for years to get their free suds for an hour each week.


image.png
src

This place can get very busy during this time and I was always wondering how it is that they can afford to give away a hundred or so bottles of beer every Sunday and still stay in business. That question was answered for me by one of the owners one day and he informed me that they buy so much of a lager called Huda that they only end up paying around 10 cents per bottle and they make up the giveaway money in the several hours that follows the free beer hour because most people stick around. I feel a little bit bad about the fact that I almost never stay after the free beer period is over with.


image.png

I'm not a huge fan of wearing clothing that features near naked women on it, so the only time that I wear this shirt is on Sundays. Nadi is not a fan of posing for pictures but since she is such a good girl she will always comply but expects compensation in the form of a treaty-pie afterwards.

If you are in Da Nang you will know when it is Sunday afternoon because a ton of mostly middle-aged men will have a Dirty Fingers T-shirt on and you know exactly why that is. The shirt is not free, it costs 500K VND which is just over $20. However, if you live here or even if you are only here for a month you can easily get that money back because the beers that you get for free are normally around $1.20 each. I can't believe that I was here for nearly 3 years before I finally capitulated and got a shirt. It has paid for itself many times over as me and my buddy James kind of treat the hour of free beer as a competition of sorts. Both he and I are sensible people though and after the 1 hour we both normally head home.

Dirty Fingers is a pretty cool place and the food is decent too. I don't often eat there and I kind of feel bad about that but hey! It wasn't my choice to give away beer. I don't make the rules.

If you are in Da Nang I do suggest you go check them out though. here is their location


image.png
src

These guys are open all day and late into the night. On special occasions such as major sporting events they will even be open at some ungodly hour like 4am to accommodate the masses. It's really easy to spot because it is on the main beach road and it really stands out from all of their neighbors. It's funny because the name initially was a turnoff but it is just disgusting sounding enough to get you intrigued and honestly, it is the name that made me go there in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71