A RARE FIND - A VINTAGE OBLIO LAMP

in #vintage5 years ago

a7f41757-f1f2-4abe-a974-b473b052439b.jpeg


HAPPY WEDNESDAY, STEEM FAM!

You may remember a while ago that I wrote about an exciting auction I went to.

This retro lamp is one of my purchases.

I was really excited to get it, as it is really, quite rare.

It's an Artemide lamp, which is an Italian company, founded in 1960, by Ernesto Gismondi (only one of the most progressive light designers that ever lived!)

Gismondi is right up there with Frank Lloyd Wright, Mies Van der Rohe and Arne Jacobsen, when it comes to pioneering the design field.

So, you can imagine how elated I was when I outbid the other bidders at the auction to get this lamp at a reasonable enough to resell price on the auction.

It's called an Oblio lamp, which is Italian for Oblivion. I am not too sure of the thought behind that, but none the less, it is pretty amazing!

It's dimmable, and tilts from left to right. The blue glass shade creates the most sublime light.

Gorgeous!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

i really love classic design lamps, they really capture the design astethic of the time in a special way.

The lamp seems as though it would fit right into modern design. Although that lamp has a lot more effort put into its design and construction. The blue is amazing.

I looove anything vintage. that looks so amazing. nice find. 😊🍾

Ohhhhhh! Yes! That unique piece that defies the rules of identity and crosses the lines between art and design.

I cannot believe how lucky you were! I would be over the moon with a piece like that. The blue incandescent lighting is utterly transcendent! And why wouldn't it be? It was only made by the world renown engineer and designer who happens to also be Italian. Oh la! La!

Ooops! Sorry. Those latin lovers also have some mad skilz in design.

Congratulations!! You really scored!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

I love this lamp such a cool design and color

Very cool piece of art.
Love it.

you're becoming a moth

OOh this is cool and Moderne. I am over the moon to be soon hitting antique shops and auctions. We've already planned a fun big auction here in Canterbury at the end of November that I am excited about.
Of course we still have to wait that our new home will actually be OURS. We've a long week of waiting now, oh well.

I could always get some small things so if our home falls through I can still put them in the car with us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05