Virtual Reality And Human Curiosity

in #virtualreality6 years ago (edited)

As my followers may have noticed, I have not posted in a week or two. I am very busy working on my thesis and job hunting for when I finish my Master's program. Therefore you will not see me around much. Take this post a my last one in a while. Once I submit my thesis and find a job, then I'll come back to my routine of almost-daily posts.

For now, I leave you with a thought-provoking piece on virtual reality (VR) written by a good friend of mine. He does not have a Steem account so at least for now, let's call him AsWhoper420. I think that would be his chosen name. He is a computer scientist and maybe one of the best programmers I know. I am sure you will enjoy his piece.

Best,

@capatazche


Are all the things I perceive with my senses real? Is the human experience, as we know it, a virtual simulation? What does it mean for something to be "real” or not? These are the types of questions I found asking myself while witnessing nature and its beauty from the window of a train in movement. The different layers and tones of green in the vegetation, the subtle and smooth dancing of leaves to the rhythm of the wind, the beautiful color gradient in the sky as the sun descends in the horizon, the flock of birds flying over this gradient, the mechanical sound of the engine, and so on. Scenery so vivid and immersive that it would be a heartbreaking to discern it as not “real”. But in the end, these are all stimuli or bits of information captured by our different sensory systems and sent to the brain for processing in order to have an understanding of the world so we can act accordingly. To put it in more simpler terms, we can think of our notion of reality as the output of a function that takes in external stimuli, with the brain being the function itself. So, what happens when human technology advances to such a point where we are able to generate artificial or virtual stimuli that for the brain is indistinguishable from those coming from the natural or “real” world? What happens when the line between real and virtual completely dissipates?

Most of us have heard the term “Virtual Reality” in one context or another, specially in the past decade, with a wide range of devices that generate virtual experiences leaving the dark room of research labs and entering the market, readily accessible to common folk that have a not so humble budget at their disposal. Most of these devices come in the form of head mounted displays, like the HTC Vive, which target the visual sensory system by generating virtual scenes that try to resemble the physical world. But as some of you probably know, these relatively commercial devices, and even the cutting edge ones sitting on research labs, are still impossible to generate truly immersive virtual experiences. The main reason for this is that the current state of technology forces us to come up with wearable hardware implementations. That is, in order to undergo virtual experiences we must wear some sort of device.


Pixabay image source.

Such wearable hardware implementations do not feel natural and some of them even impose restrictions on our natural body motions. I am of the opinion that, even with exponential leaps in technological advancement, this approach will never be able to generate truly immersive virtual experiences that can rival those of the natural world. My reasoning for this is that during the virtual experience, no matter how immersive it might feel to us, at some degree or another we are consciously aware that we are wearing a piece of hardware in the physical world.

I think that the future of truly immersive virtual experiences resides on Computer-to-Brain interfaces, that is, artificial devices that can be implanted in the brain in order to achieve bidirectional communication paths between the brain and the device. Such device can emulate the electrical activity generated by our different sensory systems when processing stimuli from the actual physical world. With this technology the possibilities are limitless, the Matrix will no longer be a fictional concept, but a very realistic one. This will become the Pandora’s box of the modern era. Will we, as a society, blindly open up this box, driven by our insatiable curiosity, without fully understanding the the consequences this might bring? Will we be ready? The clock is ticking.

Best,

AsWhoper420

Sort:  

I agree virtual reality must move to direct communication with the brain either via an inplant or though brain waves to truly blur reality. Good to see a post from you! But reality still is more important than these virtual social interactions haha

Research on brain-computer interactions have been going on for a couple of decades now. The reality is that we are still a long way from it. Maybe sometime soon we will have a breakthrough, who knows...

Thanks! Yes, reality still rules.

I think too many will get lost in Virtual reality and disregard reality. Just look at most today. Face stuck to a screen 24 / 7.

I agree. This is a real concern. But then again, imagine a point where brain-computer communication is stable and you can choose the reality you live in. I think even I would cave in and get lost in that reality.

Just about everyone would which is where the problem comes in. Regardless of how nice that fake reality is .. its still fake.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #48! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually 😊


You can upvote, follow, resteem, delegate and join my curation trail to support me, good creators and minnows.
Thank you!

Thank you for choosing this post!

You got a 23.73% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @capatazche!

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 24.91% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91